Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This is pretty much the way I grew up making cornbread & still make. However, I use a self-rising cornmeal so that eliminates the baking soda & salt. As soon as I pull the skillet out of the oven & put the hot oil in the mix I add 1 Tbs of butter to the skillet. It melts immediately and when you pour the bread in you get a nice buttery flavor on the crispy crust. I find that the bread is done & browned in approx. 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Just like my Missouri-born Mom used to make it with one difference. We use bacon grease instead of shortening and the flavor is excellent. We usually make it in a square baking pan and heat the bacon grease in the pan, roll it around to coat the pan and pour what's left into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Lose the egg & most of the salt, then add a tsp baking powder and you will come out with beautiful non-sweet cornbread like my grandmothers mother taught her in the mid-1880s. If there are other people around when you take it out of the oven, you had better bake twice as much as you originally intended, since half of it will be consumed on the spot with a little butter! Crumbled up in milk, it makes a scrumptious late night snack. Reheat later with a small amount of water in a separate microwave container and it will be almost as good as when it first came out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Excellent!! Finally, a true Southern Cornbread recipe - NO SUGAR!! We had this once a week when my mother would cook an all southern vegetable meal for a break from the meat oriented meals during the rest of the week. We five kids loved it with yellow squash, yummy turnip greens, blackeyed peas and whatever was garden fresh that week. But our favorite use for this cornbread recipe was for Thanksgiving Turkey Dressing to - die - for. Lots of chopped onions, celery and giblets....cooked in the turkey and in a cast iron pan so it would be all crunchy. Heavenly with fresh cranberry sauce and turkey and gravy and sweet potatoes...oh my!! Absolute perfection. If you want the truly authentic Southern Cornbread recipe version use bacon grease in the cast iron pan rather than lard. No corn kernels or jalapenos or cheese for the purist. This is in no way meant to please a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
at last, cornbread WITHOUT flour. very important to use cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Finally, a cornbread recipe without sugar. I don't like sweet cornbread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
THIS is cornbread. Perfect recipe. I like my cornbread to be a bit sweet so I add a couple tablespoons of sugar, but that's just a personal preference. This recipe is great for those on gluten-free diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearland Quilter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was just like the the cornbread my grandfather used to make! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Only thing I changed was the shortening. I did not have it so I used real butter. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michround

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
My husband is gluten-free and so I'm often limited when looking for good cornbread recipes. This was a good base, but I would suggest a few changes. I found this way to salty, so I cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp. I also added 1 tablespoon of sugar just to add a touch of flavor and softer crumb. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States