Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very nice, quick and simple recipe. I cut down the salt to 1/2 a tsp and cooked it for only 13mins before it was done. I also used ricotta cheese rather than shorting to cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
thick, this was the real thing, I added sugar, and self rising flour to this recipes, and it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I really like that this recipe has no sugar. I used stone-ground cornmeal and reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon, based on other reviews. I used clarified butter instead of shortening and baked it in a divided cast-iron pan, so I got 8 wedges. It was done in about 12 minutes. I discovered that if it bakes too long, the cornbread deflates. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Anselmo, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this tonight and it was the texture and corn taste that I was looking for. It was too salty though, for me. I baked it for the lower time and had some sticking and it was very brown (no burnt taste), but my oven temp may have been off by a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Excellent! I used plain soy milk, rather than butter milk plus one TB raw honey! It was a little salty for my taste so I think next time I will use a little less. Since I cant eat dairy or wheat I will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Perfect cornbread - grainy stone ground cornmeal and the buttermilk is essential. Just needs butter. Yum. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is exactly like my recipe (mine uses double the ingredients but the same proportions) except I use bacon grease instead of shortening. Try it for a little added flavor.I had begun to think we were the only people who dont like sweet cornbread. I see I was quite wrong! As my husband says, I'll have desert AFTER dinner. Thank you for making this available!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Coming from a Kentucky girl, this is REAL cornbread! No flour, no sugar! This is the cornbread my mama made and taught me to make, right down to putting the shortening in the skillet and preheating in the oven! It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Yeah! Finally someone who knows not to put sugar in cornbread.. This is the southern way.. No Yankee sugar here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My husband and father both come from the south and HATE what we use as cornbread here in California. It is sweet and cakelike...and although I love it, I have had to listen to them lament about missing REAL cornbread. When I found this recipe, I hoped that it finally put an end to their complaining...and it did! It was all they had hoped for...I did make a few adjustments after reading some of the other reviews...changing the salt to 1/2 tsp. , added a 1/2 tsp. of baking powder, 3/4 C. flour, and 1 TBS. oil...and it was perfect for them both. (In fact, the only reason I gave it just 4 Stars is because I did have to alter the original just a little...) Thank you sooo much for this recipe...and for the previous reviews! This one will be one of our regular recipes from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABlondeBabydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States