Cornbread Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this yesterday. I did make a couple of small changes. I used my recipe to make the cornbread and only used 1 can of chicken broth plus an equal amount of homemade turkey broth. I also added 3 chopped up boild eggs. Turned out nice and moist and very tastey. I also ommited the sugar in my cornbread because this dressing needs to be savory not sweet. I did add sage about 3/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This recipe was exactly what I was seeking. I used too much cream of chicken. That was my fault. I didn't want to waste the leftover after cutting the recipe in half. It was a little too moist as a result. lesson learned. The next time I will not make that mistake. This dish will be a mainstay of future holiday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Northern
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I made my own cornbread recipe using buttermilk instead of the one listed. I was afraid I had ruined it because I accidently used the evaporated milk instead of the soup but it still worked and was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Exactly what I was hoping for! Perfect. I changed the soup to cream of celery (I just like it better), and added a teaspoon of sage. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This was my first ever attempt at making dressing. It was delicious and so easy!! The only change I made was cooking the onion and celery in with the cornbread. I remember seeing my mother do that as a child. Of course, hers was NEVER this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
I HAD TO LEAVE OUT A COUPLE OF INGREDIENTS BECAUSE OF MY KIDS...BUT IT WAS FANTASTIC...THE INSIDE WAS NOT MUSHY LIKE SOME DRESSINGS..AND THE OUTSIDE WAS NICE AND CRUSTY...I WILL USE THIS RECIPE FOR GENERATIONS TO COME, THANK YOU....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETUNIA0502

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe was great. I had to cook the Thanksgiving cornbread dressing for the first time in 20 years (my mother-in-law always did it) and had no idea how to. This was easy to make and tasted great although I did leave out the mushrooms because my husband and son do not like them. I will make this every year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWHEEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Very easy to make, a little time consuming but well worth it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Thank you Mandy!!! I have been looking for this recipe as I lost the instructions for it in a recent move. My family was distraught that I might not be able to make this again!! We've included this recipe in our Thanksgiving menu for almost 20 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and my family was skeptical. We have always been a "traditional stuffing" family and not open to change. I made it anyway and now it is a demand for Christmas. It looks really bad when you're making it, but don't be afraid. After it's cooked, it looks alot better and tastes wonderful. I added a little cooked, crumbled sausage. And I would definitely go to the trouble of making the cornbread as stated. Any store bought cornbread would probably be too sweet and ruin the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salida, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States