Cornbread Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This was my first ever attempt at making dressing. It was delicious and so easy!! The only change I made was cooking the onion and celery in with the cornbread. I remember seeing my mother do that as a child. Of course, hers was NEVER this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
I HAD TO LEAVE OUT A COUPLE OF INGREDIENTS BECAUSE OF MY KIDS...BUT IT WAS FANTASTIC...THE INSIDE WAS NOT MUSHY LIKE SOME DRESSINGS..AND THE OUTSIDE WAS NICE AND CRUSTY...I WILL USE THIS RECIPE FOR GENERATIONS TO COME, THANK YOU....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETUNIA0502

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and my family was skeptical. We have always been a "traditional stuffing" family and not open to change. I made it anyway and now it is a demand for Christmas. It looks really bad when you're making it, but don't be afraid. After it's cooked, it looks alot better and tastes wonderful. I added a little cooked, crumbled sausage. And I would definitely go to the trouble of making the cornbread as stated. Any store bought cornbread would probably be too sweet and ruin the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salida, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe was great. I had to cook the Thanksgiving cornbread dressing for the first time in 20 years (my mother-in-law always did it) and had no idea how to. This was easy to make and tasted great although I did leave out the mushrooms because my husband and son do not like them. I will make this every year for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWHEEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this yesterday for Christmas and it was pretty good! However, I added 2 cans of cream of chicken, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 4 raw eggs (makes dressing creamier). I also used buttermilk in the place of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Exactly what I was hoping for! Perfect. I changed the soup to cream of celery (I just like it better), and added a teaspoon of sage. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Thank you Mandy!!! I have been looking for this recipe as I lost the instructions for it in a recent move. My family was distraught that I might not be able to make this again!! We've included this recipe in our Thanksgiving menu for almost 20 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This recipe was exactly what I was seeking. I used too much cream of chicken. That was my fault. I didn't want to waste the leftover after cutting the recipe in half. It was a little too moist as a result. lesson learned. The next time I will not make that mistake. This dish will be a mainstay of future holiday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Northern
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I made my own cornbread recipe using buttermilk instead of the one listed. I was afraid I had ruined it because I accidently used the evaporated milk instead of the soup but it still worked and was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States