Cornbread Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I subbed homemade cornbread (Melt 1/2c butter,add 1T sugar & dissolved. Whisked in 5eggs.Combined 1c buttermilk & 1/2t bsoda.Combined the two. Poured over 1c cornmeal, 1c flour, 1t salt. Greased 8x8, 30 min) Pureed two slices fresh white bread & combined with crumbled cornbread. Sauteed 1c onion, 3/4c celery. Added 1t sage, 1/2t black pepper, 1T parsley. Added that & 3.5c homemade chicken broth, 1can cr chix & 1/2c half&half. I forgot to add the additional eggs. :/ Could it be better with those eggs? I'll have to make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I would less eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waffles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
this is what I have been looking for. my husband always cook the dinner and I did the deserts, but he passed in 2009 so the girls want me to do it all. thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
SLAP YOUR MAMA ...IT WAS GREAT very moist let when it comes out of the oven let it sit there for 10ish mins to set will be a keeper for me !!... to the one who shared this recipe, thank you... love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendelin Hyde

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I LOOOOOOVE this recipe makes a moist dressing. Last thanksgiving was my first time making dressing and since i'm a vegetarian I substituted chicken broth for vegetable broth and used cream of mushroom soup, maybe 2 cans? however, it was delicious, i'm just happy I found the recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This recipe was exactly what I was seeking. I used too much cream of chicken. That was my fault. I didn't want to waste the leftover after cutting the recipe in half. It was a little too moist as a result. lesson learned. The next time I will not make that mistake. This dish will be a mainstay of future holiday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Northern
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
It came together and set well, but I thought it needed more flavor. I added quite a bit of poultry seasoning and turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this yesterday. I did make a couple of small changes. I used my recipe to make the cornbread and only used 1 can of chicken broth plus an equal amount of homemade turkey broth. I also added 3 chopped up boild eggs. Turned out nice and moist and very tastey. I also ommited the sugar in my cornbread because this dressing needs to be savory not sweet. I did add sage about 3/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Exactly what I was hoping for! Perfect. I changed the soup to cream of celery (I just like it better), and added a teaspoon of sage. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this yesterday for Christmas and it was pretty good! However, I added 2 cans of cream of chicken, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 4 raw eggs (makes dressing creamier). I also used buttermilk in the place of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States