Cornbread Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Wow! I took this dressing to a family gathering today and everyone flipped. I made two pans, for twenty people, and they could have eaten three. The only change I made was to add a can of cream of chicken soup in place of one of the broths, which I think really made this dish special, used garlic cheese biscuits instead of plain, and sauted the onion and celery with a bit of garlic. My family just went on and on about how good it was. I was very proud of this dish and will never make my dressing any other way. Too bad there are not 10 stars here. It certainly deserves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Sorry, mom, I think I've got you beat now! This was great dressing! I start about a month before Thanksgiving freezing my leftover cornbread and biscuits so that I don't have MORE cooking to do around Thanksgiving and so the two cans of chicken broth wasn't quite enough for me. Luckily I have seen my mom make dressing enough to know what it was supposed to look like before it went into the oven. I also aadded more salt and a lot more sage. Next time, I'll probably just add a boullion cube to the broth/vegetables/butter boiling mixture. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that made Thanksgiving away from home more bearable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
The flavor was perfect. I used biscuit mix. I would only get better, I'd imagine, with the canned biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Perfect cornbread dressing recipe. Just the right flavor and moistness I wanted. I did add a bit more sausage and I cooked it first. But after eating it, I don't think it needed the extra sausage. I also sauteed the onions and celerey in the butter and then added everything to the biscuits and cornbread. I used whole wheat refrigerated biscuits. When I crumbled the cornbread and the biscuits I did not use all that I had made. I used four cups of each as specified in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was the easiest dressing I've ever made. I did make biscuits from a baking mix,but that is so simple to do and the flavor is better. Also, I used beaten eggs instead of hard boiled, just poured them over the dry ingredients, then added the wet ingred. Family loved this dressing as much as the one we used to use. I will make this frequently! Thank you Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was GREAT!!! Though a little wet, all the flavors went so well together. I would use more sausage next time. Overall, a great traditional stuffing...would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Serve every thanksgiving. I add more sausage and blend everything. I cook biscuits and cornbread a day in advanced to make it more crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This recipe has all my favorite ingredients and smells delicious. But unfortunately it came out of the oven like a sticky glob:( Maybe there was to much broth. Maybe another try and it will be better:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I prepared this dressing exactly as written and it was wonderful! This is the best dressing I have ever tasted. I have been looking a LONG time for a dressing that my kids would eat and this is it! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
For my first time making dressing I had to have a recipe that included boiled eggs- like my grandmother used to make. I didn't add sausage and I cut the cornbread by 1/2 a cup-- but it came out wonderfully! It was a huge hit with my family and I loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States