Cornbread Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Wow! I took this dressing to a family gathering today and everyone flipped. I made two pans, for twenty people, and they could have eaten three. The only change I made was to add a can of cream of chicken soup in place of one of the broths, which I think really made this dish special, used garlic cheese biscuits instead of plain, and sauted the onion and celery with a bit of garlic. My family just went on and on about how good it was. I was very proud of this dish and will never make my dressing any other way. Too bad there are not 10 stars here. It certainly deserves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
Be careful. The amount of cornbread and biscuits the recipe called for made the dressing too dry for our liking. But with a good gravy it was redeemed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona Lake, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This recipe has all my favorite ingredients and smells delicious. But unfortunately it came out of the oven like a sticky glob:( Maybe there was to much broth. Maybe another try and it will be better:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
As I am reading some of the reviews about my recipe and pondering why some of the reviewers are having problems with the dressing either being too moist or too dry, it occurs to me that it has to do with how much liquid is lost in the boiling of the vegetables. If after you boil the onions, celery, butter and chicken broth, you strain out the onions and celery, add them to the cornbread mixture, and then measure out 2 1/2 cups of broth to add to the cornbread mix, that seems to be the perfect amount of liquid. My least favorite part of making this dressing is getting the raw sausage thoroughly mixed in with the cornbread/biscuit mixture. Found a cure. Don't know why it took so long to think of it...must be old age! If you will take about 4 of the biscuits, tear them a little and put them in a small food processor along with the raw sausage and chop for a few seconds, then it is easy to mix in with the rest of the batch. On a side note, I only use "hot" sausage. It adds more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
I prepared this dressing exactly as written and it was wonderful! This is the best dressing I have ever tasted. I have been looking a LONG time for a dressing that my kids would eat and this is it! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This went over great at Thanksgiving. And I loved losing the raw egg drama. As long as this gets brown you know it is done. And it was perfect, not overpowering! I skipped the boiled eggs as we are not fans of boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Perfect cornbread dressing recipe. Just the right flavor and moistness I wanted. I did add a bit more sausage and I cooked it first. But after eating it, I don't think it needed the extra sausage. I also sauteed the onions and celerey in the butter and then added everything to the biscuits and cornbread. I used whole wheat refrigerated biscuits. When I crumbled the cornbread and the biscuits I did not use all that I had made. I used four cups of each as specified in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
For my first time making dressing I had to have a recipe that included boiled eggs- like my grandmother used to make. I didn't add sausage and I cut the cornbread by 1/2 a cup-- but it came out wonderfully! It was a huge hit with my family and I loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
this recipe made my thanksgiving dinner a real hit! i used some sage flavored crumbled sausage as well and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This was my first Thanksgiving to cook. Everything didn't come out right like it should but everyone loved the dressing. I think I used a little too much broth. But the dressing was still delicious. It tasted just like the dressing my grandma used to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States