Cornbread Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
As I am reading some of the reviews about my recipe and pondering why some of the reviewers are having problems with the dressing either being too moist or too dry, it occurs to me that it has to do with how much liquid is lost in the boiling of the vegetables. If after you boil the onions, celery, butter and chicken broth, you strain out the onions and celery, add them to the cornbread mixture, and then measure out 2 1/2 cups of broth to add to the cornbread mix, that seems to be the perfect amount of liquid. My least favorite part of making this dressing is getting the raw sausage thoroughly mixed in with the cornbread/biscuit mixture. Found a cure. Don't know why it took so long to think of it...must be old age! If you will take about 4 of the biscuits, tear them a little and put them in a small food processor along with the raw sausage and chop for a few seconds, then it is easy to mix in with the rest of the batch. On a side note, I only use "hot" sausage. It adds more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I love this dressing... I didn't add all the broth just because I thought it would be too runny.. I also used a 3 Qt dish instead of a 2 Qt.... It was great....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haleyw91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is very good. I added Worcestershire Sauce and since I didn't have chicken bullion granules, I used beef and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I really love this dish. My husband and I are tried this recipe out together because our families were having Holiday gatherings as much as they used to. I told him we need to learn how to cook all of the dishes we love since our grandparents and parents are not cooking like they used to and start inviting people over to our house for the holidays. Well this was a winner with our entire family. At first no one put big portions of this dish on their plates but once they tasted it, they went running back for seconds and thirds until there was nothing left. We didnt make any changes to the recipe since we just wanted to make the dish right and see if we like it. We loved it so the second and third time we made it we just added more meat because my husband is a meat man and loves meaty dishes. I would give this recipe way more stars if I could. Thanks for sharing because now our cornbread dressing dish is requested at every holiday gathering!!!!! P.S. I think this dressing is better than our grandmas & it feel great when you can cook a dish that beats your own grandmother dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I had a family get together and I was asked to bring a dish to go with a pork roast. I had a taste for stuffing, but wanted it to be different. This was perfect! Not only did it go well since it has a pork flavor, but it was a hit! The picky eaters enjoyed!!! My only change was increasing to half a pound of pork sausage, I wanted to add more pork flavor and I am glad I did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
RECOMMENDED FOR FIRST TIME DRESSING COOKERS :) I have NEVER cooked a homemade dressing before and all of my family was coming to my house for Christmas dinner this year!!! I was scared!! I found this recipe, got the ingredients, and tried it for the first time...It turned out AMAZING!! My Mother-in-law even said that it was the best she has ever had, even her's! It was so moist and no crunchy veggies! Next time I will have to make two pans of this because the first pan went too quickly! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Without the eggs by accident this recipe was a hit. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Family loved it. It will be on the table next Thanksgiving. I lied this is a 5 star .... changed 12/07/11
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKRRM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
My family (all avowed stuffing haters) went wild about this dressing! They said "you know I don't eat this stuff normally, but this is really good!" Following several other reviewers suggestions, I used butter-flavored biscuits, 2 raw eggs, and 1/2 tsp of sage. Absolutely delicious. This will now be a mainstay for our holiday meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Boston, Texas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Fantastic. I made my own homemade cornbread off of this site and together they both turned out great! Should have made more...it was gone in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States