Cornbread Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was the best cornbread dressing!!! My son asked for this for Thanksgiving and I had never made it before so this was the one we decided to cook and EVERYONE LOVED IT!!!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Awesome. I took the ideas from other reviews and made this with raw eggs vs. boiled and cooked the sausage prior to mixing it with the dry ingredients. My only regret is that I didn't make MORE, this was a hit for Thanksgiving I am definitely making it again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I left out the hard boiled eggs and doubled the recipe. Wonderful! Just the right amount of sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
this was my first time making cornbread dressing and it turned out pretty good! i used mild italian chicken sausage instead of pork - removed the casing and sauteed in a pan before using in the dish. it was nice and chewy and added a delicious flavor. however, i would echo others that said it came out too moist. next time i'll add less chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Loved this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My family enjoys this dressing recipe. We use it for thanksgiving without the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMORT00
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
As I am reading some of the reviews about my recipe and pondering why some of the reviewers are having problems with the dressing either being too moist or too dry, it occurs to me that it has to do with how much liquid is lost in the boiling of the vegetables. If after you boil the onions, celery, butter and chicken broth, you strain out the onions and celery, add them to the cornbread mixture, and then measure out 2 1/2 cups of broth to add to the cornbread mix, that seems to be the perfect amount of liquid. My least favorite part of making this dressing is getting the raw sausage thoroughly mixed in with the cornbread/biscuit mixture. Found a cure. Don't know why it took so long to think of it...must be old age! If you will take about 4 of the biscuits, tear them a little and put them in a small food processor along with the raw sausage and chop for a few seconds, then it is easy to mix in with the rest of the batch. On a side note, I only use "hot" sausage. It adds more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I love this dressing... I didn't add all the broth just because I thought it would be too runny.. I also used a 3 Qt dish instead of a 2 Qt.... It was great....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haleyw91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is very good. I added Worcestershire Sauce and since I didn't have chicken bullion granules, I used beef and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I really love this dish. My husband and I are tried this recipe out together because our families were having Holiday gatherings as much as they used to. I told him we need to learn how to cook all of the dishes we love since our grandparents and parents are not cooking like they used to and start inviting people over to our house for the holidays. Well this was a winner with our entire family. At first no one put big portions of this dish on their plates but once they tasted it, they went running back for seconds and thirds until there was nothing left. We didnt make any changes to the recipe since we just wanted to make the dish right and see if we like it. We loved it so the second and third time we made it we just added more meat because my husband is a meat man and loves meaty dishes. I would give this recipe way more stars if I could. Thanks for sharing because now our cornbread dressing dish is requested at every holiday gathering!!!!! P.S. I think this dressing is better than our grandmas & it feel great when you can cook a dish that beats your own grandmother dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States