Cornbread Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I tweaked the recipe a bit. I cooked the chicken in butter, a tablespoon of minced garlic, & a sprinkle of pepper. I also added more cheddar cheese, just enough to cover the chicken/corn/soup mixture, & then I sprinkled a bit of parmesan cheese on top of that. Tasted amazing! My kids loved it & my fiance ate over half the pie! This is definitely going in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I'm giving this 4 stars as it's "good". The basic recipe is a great foundation to make this awesome. The cornbread topping is easy and tasty. I used creamed corn, carrots and peas as the veggies. Now, I think, generally speaking, chicken pot pie is bland. It's Good, but won't make your taste buds dance. I added Essence of Emeril, 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes, 1 tsp black pepper..which helped a little. Ended up putting hot sauce on it even after serving. My next try with this recipe is to make a TexMex version. Add taco seasoning to the chicken, add a can of drained Rotel Tomatos etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
It seems like too much milk (3/4 cup) for the corn muffin mix. I had a mess with the very thin batter running over the pie plate. I removed what I could then started again with another box of muffin mix and just 1/3 cup milk. It was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDHILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I used the topping for my own pot pie. I put it a larger, shallow corning ware dish insted of pie plate and there was plenty of corn muffin to cover it. My son really enjoyed it. Much quicker than making a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Redmond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was delicious! My husband and I ate every last bite! I slow-cooked the chicken using bag n season and natures seasoning for flavor. I used half a can of corn and half a can of green beans. I also seasoned it well before cooking (salt, pepper, nature's seasoning). I used Marie Calendars corn bread mix, but made it as the recipe said...except I added a large pre-sauteed jalapeno to the corn bread mixture. It was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Quick, easy, tasty! What more can you ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Pure comfort food! After looking over the reviews, I decided to replace the 8 ounce can of corn with a 14.5 ounce can of cream corn (to add more liquid). I also added sauteed onion and garlic to the chicken. My choice of cornbread mix (Jiffy) added sweetness to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is really good. I've never had a pot pie with a cornbread topping. It was quite a change and quite good. I used left over Thanksgiving turkey. I bought cauliflower and broccoli for Thanksgiving dinner and didn't use all of it so I added a bag of frozen beggies to the mix and I used fat free soup. Out of curiosity I made it as directed the first time, but the second time I made it, I added 1/2 cup drained salsa, some shredded PepperJack along with the Cheddar Cheese, plus a table spoon of taco seasoning to the turkey mixture. For the veggies I used half a can of drained and rinsed black beans and the corn cut from 2 ears of corn. Wow. both ways were great and I will absolutely be making it again...both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was pretty good and easy to make! I had 1/2 a roasted chicken to use up, this fit the bill for that. I also used a whole 15 oz. can of corn, it worked out fine. Over all, a pretty good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
The filling was very bland so in order to make it a 5 star I added 3 minced garlic cloves, some garlic powder, parsley, and pepper. I substituted the corn with peas and carrots for some color. I used campbell's cream of chicken and mushroom so I can poison my family with more veggies. I love my version better. The filling to bread ratio was half and half. Next time I will add more filling. Thanks Campbell for the formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States