Cornbread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
The original version of this recipe is better, but I can't seem to find it. It is supposed to have one 8.5 ounce box of jiffy corn muffin mix, not cornbread mix, and 8 ounces of sour cream, not 1 ounce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I believe the recipe should have one - 8 ounce sour cream. The recipe I use also calls for two eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I've tried a few cornbread casserole recipes and this is by far the best! I love that there is no egg in it! I will never bother to try another corn casserole recipe again, this one was perfect! Just a note, you do have to drain the whole kernel corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I made this for a work potluck and it went over great. I gave the recipe out to a few. I did take the advice of others and added 8 oz sour cream, 2 eggs and I aded 1/3 cup of white sugar. The recipe didn't say whether or not to drain the corn and I did. Next time, I'll leave the juice in. I also dusted the buttered dish with a light coating of sugar. This dish was gone in a flash! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
We used 3 cups of Marie Calendar's cornbread mix (sweeter than most mixes), about 1/2 cup sour cream, and 4 TBS melted butter. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Great way to take ordinary corn bread and transform the traditional into something different, good and very tasty. My family loves this recipe. It's tried and true, I love the texture. I made one adjustment to it because when I cooked it for an hour it was still a little bit mushy so I kept cooking it for about 1 hour and 15 minute to an hour and a half. It was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I love this recipe. I accidently left out the butter the last time I made this, but the taste is still the same! I'll be omitting the butter from now on when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBetty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
I LOVE this recipe! I printed it out last year and have made it at least 10 times since. I wouldn't change anything! The only thing I notice is that the recipe doesnt say to drain the can of regular corn. Oh, and it really does need about an hour to bake. but SO YUMMY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
OK, maybe I'm missing the point here but . . . this is just a "cake-y" textured cornbread, right? Not really a "casserole" 'cause there's nothing else in it! That being said, I tried it anyway. I made this EXACTLY per the recipe, but it wouldn't hold together--was very "chunky" (?) & didn't appear to have cooked long enough either! Then, I read the reviews about 8oz. of sour cream (that's a BIG difference allrecipes' editors!) and suggestion of using 2 eggs. Ummm . . . OK this is what I came up with: 2 eggs, 8oz. sour cream, slightly less than 1/2cup oil, one 15oz. can of creamed-style corn, 2 cups self-rising (white) corn meal, + 2 Tblsp.sugar. Mix all ingredients together & pour into greased glass 9" x 9" dish and bake at 425 for 40-45 minutes. A smooth, cakey-textured cornbread that HOLDS together! (the hotter oven temp. helps "crisp" the edges/sides of this cornbread, making the pieces cut from the edges of the pan preferred!) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I changed the recipe to suit my family. I used two boxes of Jiffy cornbread mix and added a cup of buttermilk. I also peppered the batter. I also greased the pan with bacon grease. Very good. We like this with chili or warmed the next day with eggs and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States