Cornbread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
As others suggested, I added two eggs. I was out of sour cream, so I used 3/4 cups buttermilk, which worked out well. To turn this recipe into a hearty meal, I like to add a couple of sliced chicken breasts (cooked ahead of time) and a can of mixed vegetables and then serve it with some brown gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Did not care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggiemae1962

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This wasn't at all what I was looking for. The casserole was way too gummy without a lot of flavor. I think the 1/4 pound of butter was overkill. Based on the reviews I was really looking forward to making this, but I will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Jazz this us up by cooking a pound of ground beef, place in bottom of pan, add a layer of cheddar cheese, add jalapeno's to according to your taste in cornbread mixture and pour over cheese. It is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
easy to make and always a hit! not a dish for dieters though.. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
It is basically tomalito...easy, delicious and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I have made this a few times. The first time I forgot the sour cream, second time I added about 4 ounces of sour cream. I had the same result each time flavor wise however the sour cream adds a fluffiness to it. Others have reported adding eggs, using them will give you more of a firm texture that can be sliced into squares that will retain their shape when put on a plate. Also I have always drained the kernel corn. Any variation I have used, I have never had a bad serving of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
OK, maybe I'm missing the point here but . . . this is just a "cake-y" textured cornbread, right? Not really a "casserole" 'cause there's nothing else in it! That being said, I tried it anyway. I made this EXACTLY per the recipe, but it wouldn't hold together--was very "chunky" (?) & didn't appear to have cooked long enough either! Then, I read the reviews about 8oz. of sour cream (that's a BIG difference allrecipes' editors!) and suggestion of using 2 eggs. Ummm . . . OK this is what I came up with: 2 eggs, 8oz. sour cream, slightly less than 1/2cup oil, one 15oz. can of creamed-style corn, 2 cups self-rising (white) corn meal, + 2 Tblsp.sugar. Mix all ingredients together & pour into greased glass 9" x 9" dish and bake at 425 for 40-45 minutes. A smooth, cakey-textured cornbread that HOLDS together! (the hotter oven temp. helps "crisp" the edges/sides of this cornbread, making the pieces cut from the edges of the pan preferred!) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
THIS IS SO AMAZING I USED 2 EGGS HONEY AND WHITE SUGAR I ALSO USED LIQUID FROM CORN I THEN SPRAYED PAM ON PAN THEN SIFTER POWDERED SUGAR BEFORE ADDING CASSEROLE MIX PUT IN MIDDLE OF OVER FOR ALMOST AND HOUR , SIMPLY DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I didn't care for anything related to cornbread when I was a kid, but this one is great. It tasted just as I hoped it might. It finished with a nice, golden brown crisp topping, and was softer underneath, which is a pleasing combination. I'm often looking for simple, easy, delicious side dishes and this one fits the bill. It's so sweet, it almost feels like one is eating a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States