Cornbread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Easiest recipe out there. Great for the holidays. I reviewed this in 06 but am making some updates as of 12/09. There is another cornbread casserole recipe (by Sarah Piepert) which is great if you want a more tradiitonal cornbread.....almost identical but has butter, no cheese, less sour cream, and a better estimated cooking time. As a rule of thumb for both recipes I always omit the eggs (I like my cornbread more bread-y and less like a souffle) and then cook for up to an hour or hour and 15 minutes. A 30 minute cooking time is not enough. Regarding the cheese, if you're going for a Mexican inspired meal add it in. I usually use 1/2 the suggested (4 oz) shredded mild cheddar. Plan to serve Cornbread Casseroles using a spoon. It really wasn't meant to be cut into pieces like the picture. I love bringing this meals to holiday gatherings because it's so easy and always a hit. With preschool kids to dress and get ready, the last thing I need on a busy holiday is to prepare a complicated dish. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SCARLETT74
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This is delicious! I don't usually cook things based on canned or packaged ingredients, but was rushed for time and this looked quick and easy. I made the recipe exactly as listed, except I added only 4 oz. of shredded cheddar cheese to the top instead of 8 oz.-- and I used reduced fat cheese. YUM! The texture is perfect, not mushy at all. The flavor is just right and the aroma while baking is incredible. My husband and I both really enjoyed it and I'm sure I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
Yummy & super easy! My boyfriend and his brother ate it up fast! I served it with Alyce Voorhees "Mexican Lasagna" and the cornbread complimented the spiciness of the lasagna. Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is absolutely one of my favorite corn bread recipes. Only thing I do different is I do NOT save the liquid from the corn and I add one 4 ounce can of mild green chilies. Very moist, very VERY good. I have a hard time keeping this one around, it always disappears. NOTE: To make this even better, heat some butter in a cast iron skillet while you preheat your oven, then pour the batter into the skillet and cook that way. Omnom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
found this recipe a few months ago & it is a BIG hit with hubby-who would like it once a week-so I gave him the recipe to make whenever. Have added some finely chopped jalapeno or 1 can drained green chilies..also a dash of cumin.I never liked plain ordinary cornbread but this one is soooo good & moist & just plain delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was teriffic! I read the recipe but did not have the boxed cornbread mix. So I mixed 1 cup flour, 1 cup yellow cornmeal, 1/4 cup sugar, and 4 teaspoons baking power. The rest of the recipe I followed as is. It came out perfectly! It is very moist. Hubby LOVED it. Will probably make this at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
This recipe was ok, not the best. I added onions and cumino to spice things up and I think if I hadn't then it would have been really bad. My husband hated the texture, so I doubt this is very kid friendly. Sorry to be a downer, but I was hoping for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2001
Very easy and good. Not your usual side dish, and makes a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was a great recipe. The only reason I gave it four stars is because it took a little longer to cook to make it set up better. I gave it about 10 mins. more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
really easy and delicious...I used fresh jalapenos and chopped black olives mixed in some chipotle cheddar and then used more for the top, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedish28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States