Corn on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Nothing signals the start of summer like grilled corn on the cob at a BBQ! I soaked my corn first in cold water with a bit of sugar and salt for about an hour inside the husks (peeling back the husk a bit and removing a bit of the silk then putting the husk back). I put the corn in husks on the grill for 30 minutes rotating it around the coals. The corn cooks by steaming inside the husks. I softened the butter and added the rest of the ingredients. I cut the amount of pepper in half and added 1 tsp. of smoked paprika and 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper vs. adding the hot pepper sauce as I thought it might be a little too hot for us. All that was left to do was break out the napkins and eat. These definitely are a garlic lover's dream - sweet, spicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made this tonight and it was PERFECT! It is tender, smokey, sweet and spicy...very much a Tex Mex flavor, which I love! I tweaked it similar to what Jill did by soaking the corn and grilling it with the husks! Instead of using the seasoned butter on the corn AFTER it was cooked, I peeled back the husks and brushed it on and then I relpaced the husks and grilled on low flame for 30 minutes...turning constantly! The husks will flame up while grilling, but thats what gives the corn that great smokey flavor! I didn't use the lime juice because I didn't have any. I will use this recipe for grilled corn from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
So very good! I soaked the corn first without the silk for an hour. I'm not a huge fan of cumin so I replaced with chili powder and used Franks Hot Sauce. Wowza! The butter combination was outstanding. I didn't even have the lime. Cooked on the grill then brushed with the rest of the butter. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Was tough to keep from catching on fire, but danged if the flames didn't make it taste even better! Great recipe exactly as-is. I'll be cooking this all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Do you peel the leaves before grilling, or leave on?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Don't think I could ever eat grilled corn any other way again...This was awesome! I too brushed the butter concoction on the corn & kept the husks on while grilling. Wonderful smokey flavor! The black kernels aren't burnt...they're delish!! You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy McD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I'm so glad I found this recipe! I followed it exactly, except I used less hot sauce, and the corn turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I creamed the ingrediants, omitting the garlic since we don't care for it. I didn't grill the corn, just cooked on the stove and used the creamed butter at the table. It was great! I also used the butter the next day on some warm tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was amazing! I removed the silk and soaked the corn before putting it on the fire. I grilled the corn and then put the butter mixture on after the corn was cooked as I was cooking on an open camping fire and didnt want any errors. This was so tasty that we ate all the corn and then put the remaining butter on some potatoes we also had - I will 100% keep making this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was really good! I will definitely cook this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyhmn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States