Corn and Zucchini Melody Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This is very similar to a Mexican dish called calabacitas. The differences are to omit the bacon-but you can use bacon grease, add diced tomatoes and some garlic while cooking the zucchini, or Mexican squash. You can also add chopped green chili. Cover and cook diced zuch and tomatoes with spices, onion and garlic until tender (10-15 mins. Don't over cook). Add corn (I use canned), heat through and top with cheese--cover till melted. I use cheddar cheese but I'm sure the MJ is very good. Mexican squash looks like zucchini except that it is a light green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
What a wonderful sidedish this was! My whole family enjoyed it more than the pork roast I served it with. I was too lazy to use corn from a cob, so I just thawed some frozen corn, and I accidentally bought Colby cheese, but it tasted great. I also diced up the bacon before cooking it, as I find it easier than crumbling it afterwards. This will be a regular dish from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Fantastic! Everyone loved it even my brother who despises vegetables. The cheese seemed unnecessary and I will probably leave it out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
5/30/06--- Loved this! I didn't have monterrey jack so I subbed a mixture of mozzarella & parmesan. UPDATE 6/01/06----I used the leftovers from this for a snack as a wrap. I spread vidalia onion vinaigrette onto a warm flour tortilla & loaded it w/ the reheated Melody. Wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
I really loved this recipe! After I made it, it looked like A LOT and figured I'd be eating leftovers for a week.... not so, the bowl was empty that very night. I ended up using frozen corn because we don't have fresh corn in Alaska this time of year. I also didn't have monterey jack cheese so I just used this cheddar/monterey jack blend. One addition I added was some chopped red bell pepper. You could do a ton of variations on this if you wanted-- very VERSATAILLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
This was excellent fresh cooked, but did not taste as good reheated since the zucchini tends to get overcooked and watery when microwaved. Those who thought it mushy to begin with probably overcooked the vegetables. It tastes best tender-crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC1126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Delicious and simple!! I used frozen corn and fresh zucchini and it worked really well. I added diced red peppers and about a teaspoon of butter to the bacon drippings for a little added flavor. I also omitted the cheese and let the crumbled bacon simmer with the corn and zucchini for the last 2 or 3 minutes of cooking. Everyone, including my picky 2 year old, LOVED it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
We all thought this was great!! I used less than a tablespoon of bacon fat in a no-stick pan, sauteeing the squash and onion for 5 minutes, then adding the corn and heating for the 10 minutes. Wonderful flavor, color and texture! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Super easy and very refreshing. I used canned corn, drained, and it turned out great. For a little added crunch I added some french fried onions when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Really quite tasty! The bacon lends a nice taste throughout the veggies. I used frozen corn and broccoli and fresh onion. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States