Corn and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Browning is a liquid that comes in a small bottle. The most common brand that I am aware of is "Kitchen Bouquet". It is used to give a little extra flavour and a nice brown color to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Great recipe, and it makes a huge serving. It reminds me somewhat of Mexican red rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Loved the rice, added 2 more slices of bacon and left onion out. Used jasmine rice and chicken stock. Modified slightly- 1 cup rice, 2 cups chicken stock and 1 can f stock. a big hit, Very yummy!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I really like the flavors that came together, easy and cheap. I like making this with my fish meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I make this to save money, never knew others did as well and did not know it was Bahamian. I do it a tadge different each time, depending on what I have. I usually use an entire large onion, whole green bell pepper, at least one 8 oz can of tomato sauce and sometimes another can of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano. I love tomatoes and the veggies, but not a huge fan of rice, so I use only 1 cup of rice.... and just drain the liquids and add enough water or stock OR water and a bouillon cube to make 1 1/2 cups of liquid. And beans of any kind are good in this too. I am sure it is okay to personalize this... most folks do, less they don't have cooking experience. As is, this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I loved it! The rest of my family thought it had too much spice in it (pepper and thyme), but they like bland food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I thought this recipe was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I might add more spices to bring out more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Looks good, but what is browning sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
definetely nummy and easy!!! -La Vonne R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Be forewarned, this will feed an army! That's ok, I'm having it as left-overs for lunch today :) I didn't make any changes to the recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States