Corn and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Looks good, but what is browning sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Browning is a liquid that comes in a small bottle. The most common brand that I am aware of is "Kitchen Bouquet". It is used to give a little extra flavour and a nice brown color to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Great recipe, and it makes a huge serving. It reminds me somewhat of Mexican red rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
definetely nummy and easy!!! -La Vonne R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. It was delish!!! I made a few changes. I used one 15 ounce of corn which was plenty. I also added a few stalks of skellion while the liquid was simmering, just a few minutes before adding the rice. Lastly, I used Jasmine rice which is so much more flavorful. A true winner!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I didn't have browning sauce, so I just used a concentrated beef flavoring--a bullion type thing, and it worked well enough. I also didn't use tomato sauce but tossed in a can of drained chopped tomatoes instead. I'm not a huge fan of rice, so keep that in mind, but this wasn't too bad. The flavors worked well and it goes well with chopped chicken to make it a full meal. This does make a lot of rice, though--so make sure you like rice or have enough people to consume it if you make the full batch. There is way more than 5 servings in this recipe! All in all, not bad, and hubby seems to like it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Turned out great makes a super big pot. Great side dish for big families there will definitely be enough to go around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
It was a lot better than I expected. Wondering what a few stalks of skellion are as posted bby Yvette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Loved the rice, added 2 more slices of bacon and left onion out. Used jasmine rice and chicken stock. Modified slightly- 1 cup rice, 2 cups chicken stock and 1 can f stock. a big hit, Very yummy!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I really like the flavors that came together, easy and cheap. I like making this with my fish meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States