Corn and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I really like the flavors that came together, easy and cheap. I like making this with my fish meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I make this to save money, never knew others did as well and did not know it was Bahamian. I do it a tadge different each time, depending on what I have. I usually use an entire large onion, whole green bell pepper, at least one 8 oz can of tomato sauce and sometimes another can of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano. I love tomatoes and the veggies, but not a huge fan of rice, so I use only 1 cup of rice.... and just drain the liquids and add enough water or stock OR water and a bouillon cube to make 1 1/2 cups of liquid. And beans of any kind are good in this too. I am sure it is okay to personalize this... most folks do, less they don't have cooking experience. As is, this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I loved it! The rest of my family thought it had too much spice in it (pepper and thyme), but they like bland food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Browning is a liquid that comes in a small bottle. The most common brand that I am aware of is "Kitchen Bouquet". It is used to give a little extra flavour and a nice brown color to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Great recipe, and it makes a huge serving. It reminds me somewhat of Mexican red rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Loved the rice, added 2 more slices of bacon and left onion out. Used jasmine rice and chicken stock. Modified slightly- 1 cup rice, 2 cups chicken stock and 1 can f stock. a big hit, Very yummy!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Be forewarned, this will feed an army! That's ok, I'm having it as left-overs for lunch today :) I didn't make any changes to the recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. It was delish!!! I made a few changes. I used one 15 ounce of corn which was plenty. I also added a few stalks of skellion while the liquid was simmering, just a few minutes before adding the rice. Lastly, I used Jasmine rice which is so much more flavorful. A true winner!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
definetely nummy and easy!!! -La Vonne R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Looks good, but what is browning sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States