Corn and Rice Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This is a really good base recipe that can be made great! I cooked the rice in 1 cup organic, free range, low sodium chicken broth and 1 cup light coconut milk. I used canned corn and added some finely diced red pepper. I thought 3 shallots was a bit much, I used only one large one and served it with herb and garlic marinated grilled chicken cutlets. This made way more than 5 servings! I think this would be a great way to make couscous. You could even add cooked chicken or tofu to the mixture and serve it as a main course. Might be nice to sprinkle a little fresh lemon juice over the top just before serving as well. Thanks for a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERDISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Even though this recipe looks like it might taste bland, the peppermint adds an unexpected subtle flavor that makes it taste anything but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
yummy! I always make short grain sticky rice, but i needed a change for an indian dish. This was very tastey! I didn't use any mint, however, because that just didn't sound appealing to me AT ALL. I used frozen corn because we had in in the freezer. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
All of my favorite ingredients in one dish. I loved this one. Thanks for a GREAT recipe! The idea of the mint is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I always use Jasmine rice for every rice dish. This is very fresh tasting and tasty. I'm a Personal Chef and I make it for my clients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was a quick and easy side dish. I used brown rice instead of white and since I don't care for mint in savory dishes, I used fresh parsley instead. I also added some garlic. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I sauteed red onion until soft (instead of shallots because that's what I had on hand), added the corn and sauteed for another minute then added rice & water and cooked all together. The starch from the corn gave a creaminess to the rice when cooked together. A real comfort food, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi Leitzell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I have to give 4 stars instead of 5 only because I didn't follow all of the recipe. I like to use what I have on hand, so I used a can of mexicorn instead of fresh corn, onion powder instead of shallots, and I didn't use any mint. But my family really enjoyed it so I will make it again the same way, since I usually have those ingredients on hand. However, I will probably decrease the butter just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This recipe was great. I did not add butter to the rice and it was great. I also cooked the rice in low-sodium chicken broth for more flavor. Cut shallots to two and did ot add any sugar, salt or mint. I did add parsley and added finely chopped and sauteed red and green papper with the corn. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This is a delightful side with seemingly unrelated ingredients. Both my husband and 10-year-old loved it! I think this would work well served warm OR cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States