Corn and Rice Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I always use Jasmine rice for every rice dish. This is very fresh tasting and tasty. I'm a Personal Chef and I make it for my clients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I have to give 4 stars instead of 5 only because I didn't follow all of the recipe. I like to use what I have on hand, so I used a can of mexicorn instead of fresh corn, onion powder instead of shallots, and I didn't use any mint. But my family really enjoyed it so I will make it again the same way, since I usually have those ingredients on hand. However, I will probably decrease the butter just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This is a really good base recipe that can be made great! I cooked the rice in 1 cup organic, free range, low sodium chicken broth and 1 cup light coconut milk. I used canned corn and added some finely diced red pepper. I thought 3 shallots was a bit much, I used only one large one and served it with herb and garlic marinated grilled chicken cutlets. This made way more than 5 servings! I think this would be a great way to make couscous. You could even add cooked chicken or tofu to the mixture and serve it as a main course. Might be nice to sprinkle a little fresh lemon juice over the top just before serving as well. Thanks for a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
OK this recipe sounds soo weird. Mint? But as the ONLY food I had in my house tonight was rice and (frozen) corn, I tried it. Very, very good! I was skeptical of the mint, but decided to try it since I'm fond of experientation in the kitchen. It was a good move. The frozen corn worked fine, although fresh would be better. And I used dried minced onion since I was even out of onions (and our small podunk grocery store has never heard of a shallot. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Used regular fast cooking rice and added cilantro and lime/lime juice. Left out the mint since I used the cilantro instead. Reduced shallots because I didn't have that much and used frozen roasted corn from Trader Joe's. Delicious hot or cold. In fact, my daughter is taking some for her lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Basmati rice has been a staple in our house for many years, annd I have been making fried corn for a while, so when I saw this recipe, I had to try it. It was great. It goes great with grilled chicken and steamed veggies. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This recipe was great. I did not add butter to the rice and it was great. I also cooked the rice in low-sodium chicken broth for more flavor. Cut shallots to two and did ot add any sugar, salt or mint. I did add parsley and added finely chopped and sauteed red and green papper with the corn. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This is a delightful side with seemingly unrelated ingredients. Both my husband and 10-year-old loved it! I think this would work well served warm OR cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I like corn, and I like rice... so I've made a couple of these corn/rice recipes and they've all been good. This one, like the others, proves to be delicious. Will not use as many shallots next time, though, or will chop them finely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanesia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Loved the mint in this... Loved the shallots. I'm thinking of adding garlic next time or, maybe, saffron. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States