Corn and Rice Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This is a delightful side with seemingly unrelated ingredients. Both my husband and 10-year-old loved it! I think this would work well served warm OR cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Seriously. Yum. If you like rice, mint and corn - this recipe is for you. Seems like an odd combo, but it turns out fab. I had some simple syrup on hand (1 part sugar, 2 parts water - boiled), so I used that in lieu of the plain sugar. Added some nice moistness to the corn mixture. Other than that, followed this to a T. Great with some blackened fish and mojitos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadtownCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was great served with chicken. The mint really adds to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
All of my favorite ingredients in one dish. I loved this one. Thanks for a GREAT recipe! The idea of the mint is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
This was excellent and so easy to make! Great as a leaftover too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I like corn, and I like rice... so I've made a couple of these corn/rice recipes and they've all been good. This one, like the others, proves to be delicious. Will not use as many shallots next time, though, or will chop them finely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanesia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This recipe was great. I did not add butter to the rice and it was great. I also cooked the rice in low-sodium chicken broth for more flavor. Cut shallots to two and did ot add any sugar, salt or mint. I did add parsley and added finely chopped and sauteed red and green papper with the corn. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Basmati rice has been a staple in our house for many years, annd I have been making fried corn for a while, so when I saw this recipe, I had to try it. It was great. It goes great with grilled chicken and steamed veggies. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Used regular fast cooking rice and added cilantro and lime/lime juice. Left out the mint since I used the cilantro instead. Reduced shallots because I didn't have that much and used frozen roasted corn from Trader Joe's. Delicious hot or cold. In fact, my daughter is taking some for her lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I always use Jasmine rice for every rice dish. This is very fresh tasting and tasty. I'm a Personal Chef and I make it for my clients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States