Corn and Egg Flower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Excellent! We eat this all the time. I made a few changes to make the recipe even easier to make. I used 9 cups water with 3T chicken boullion granules, frozen sweet white corn and only 2 eggs. This a favorite in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I have been wanting to try a recipe like this one and finally did it tonight--so simple and delicious! I forgot to add the sesame oil but that was just fine. I also used soy sauce in place of the osyter sauce since I didn't have it on hand and I didn't put in fresh corn, only the can of creamed corn, which was perfect. I halved the recipe (thanks to Allrecipes for the conversion option!) and it made just enough for two. I will definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I used one teaspoon of soy sauce instead of oyster sauce because oyster sauce is very salty and is used more for flavoring stir fry foods. Other than that, it's a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This soup was awesome. The key is the sesame oil--truly an amazing recipe. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very comfortable, tasty soup. Thank you. Changes we made: 1) didn't have oyster sauce, so used some soy - that tasted fine. 2) Didn't add additional fresh or frozen corn, just the creamed corn we had been given and needed to use up (I've got an intolerance for corn, so though I eat some, I don't pile it on when I do), 3) Sauteed an onion before making the soup, and included that in the soup... 4) offered chopped, left over beef or pork. ...... yum! Changes I might try next time: a) might use frozen corn instead of creamed corn, b) might saute celery, garlic, and ginger with the onion, c) might include chicken or fish. // My two youngest children ate this, and ate this, and ate this, until it was all gone. Hubs enjoyed this, as did I. Our second oldest son didn't care for one of our substitutions (the soy sauce). I don't know if he'll enjoy this more with the oyster sauce called for in the recipe. Will try to have some on hand for next time. Thanks again! - well, 2nd son doesn't love the oyster sauce either. We prefer the soy....??? go figure.... perhaps we just enjoyed that first meeting of this soup, and look forward to it just like that??? Thanks either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Great recipe! I used soy sauce instead of oyster sauce and it turned out perfect! Even better than at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This turned out much thicker than i thought it would, but that's a good thing! I added a little bit of ground ginger, and I think next time I'll add a little more. Very yummy, corny, and quick to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
My kids love corn and egg flower soup. This is the best recipe I have found for it, and it is simple. Thank you for offering it to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
i'm eating this right now! it's pretty good. remember to fix the measurements of the cornstarch to see what kind of consistency you want. i like this one because i already have all the ingred in my pantry so on a cold day, whip it up! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
absolutely great in the winter time with ham and cheese sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States