Corn and Egg Flower Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
My kids REALLY wanted to make this dish after a recent trip to a Chinese restaurant. It's pretty tasty, but surprisingly spicy. Sadly, it was too spicy for my kids to enjoy. We'll make it again, but we'll leave out the vast majority of the white pepper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Fast, easy, yummy and healthy! What more could I ask for! I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
absolutely awesome soup, my whole family loved it Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymama'10
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I've made this many times. Each time I decorate my soup bowl with a wedge of lemon and chopped cilantro. I find the soup is too sweet for my Bangladeshi-American taste buds. I only have large eggs so I use two. Other than that it is excellent. My three years old loves corn. I made it in her honor today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymama'10

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I choose this recipe to try out some new vegetarian oyster sauce and enjoyed the bit of sweetness and texture the creamed corn added, but I left out the extra whole kernals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
absolutely great in the winter time with ham and cheese sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very comfortable, tasty soup. Thank you. Changes we made: 1) didn't have oyster sauce, so used some soy - that tasted fine. 2) Didn't add additional fresh or frozen corn, just the creamed corn we had been given and needed to use up (I've got an intolerance for corn, so though I eat some, I don't pile it on when I do), 3) Sauteed an onion before making the soup, and included that in the soup... 4) offered chopped, left over beef or pork. ...... yum! Changes I might try next time: a) might use frozen corn instead of creamed corn, b) might saute celery, garlic, and ginger with the onion, c) might include chicken or fish. // My two youngest children ate this, and ate this, and ate this, until it was all gone. Hubs enjoyed this, as did I. Our second oldest son didn't care for one of our substitutions (the soy sauce). I don't know if he'll enjoy this more with the oyster sauce called for in the recipe. Will try to have some on hand for next time. Thanks again! - well, 2nd son doesn't love the oyster sauce either. We prefer the soy....??? go figure.... perhaps we just enjoyed that first meeting of this soup, and look forward to it just like that??? Thanks either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This soup was awesome. The key is the sesame oil--truly an amazing recipe. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Great recipe! I used soy sauce instead of oyster sauce and it turned out perfect! Even better than at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This turned out much thicker than i thought it would, but that's a good thing! I added a little bit of ground ginger, and I think next time I'll add a little more. Very yummy, corny, and quick to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States