Corn and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I had only one can of chicken broth, so I used a quart of heavy cream in addition to the one can of broth. I also added two pieces of very finely chopped celery and a small red potato very finely chopped; also added a tablespoon of dried parsley and paprika for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This recipe is awesome. I thought I messed up, but whatever I did, still worked. I sautéed the onions and garlic first. I followed the recipe after that, but pureed 1 cup of half and half with the soup mixture and added 5 tsp. of flour after adding the pureed mixture. Oh yeah, and I used imitation crab and 1 can of regular corn, drained, ane a can of crwam corn, and totally missed the bay leaves on the ingredients list. It was kind of a mixed up jumble of a lot of reviews. My husband and I were both amazed at how well it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I double this recipe and it was incredible. Very tasty. I followed the recipe except I added a little cornstarch to thicken it a bit more. I also allowed to simmer in a crock pot for a few hours. It was a hit at a pot luck. Not a drop left at the end of the night. I will continue to make this. I used fresh corn and it really added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
After reading others comments, and a few other recipes I made a few modifications and the results were awesome. I decreased the chicken broth to 2 and 1/2 cups, added 1/2 cup white wine, increased the Cajun seasoning to 2 tsp., I used 16oz. of frozen creamed corn, 1 can cream of celery soup, so I was able to eliminate the half and half, milk and flour. I pureed with heavy whipping cream in step 2 and it was the perfect consistency, so step 3 was eliminated altogether. We loved it and will have it again many times this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I usually don't rate recipes due to time factors but really like this recipe. I did use frozen corn due to the time of year and it worked just great. I did add more flour mixture to make thicker purely for preference. I did feel it was missing something that I was use to from restaurants so I decided to add 1 cup of cooking Sherry and absolutely loved the result. I can't wait for my family to get home and try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Man, I really didn't go for this. It tasted to like crab-water with milk, honestly. But after I tasted it and found it lacking I added 1/2 a lemon, squeezed, several dashes of hot sauce, and about 6 slices of smoked provolone. THEN it was a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This is really a fantastic soup and relatively easy to make. We tweaked it a little for our own tastes (more garlic, more onion, more butter, more seasonings), which is what prevented us from giving it five stars. We tried it with imitation crab (great), leftover baked cod (excellent), and we think it would be awesome with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was awesome! I threw in a chopped cooked potato and celery to make it more hearty. I also used all skim milk instead of the half and half, to cut calories and it was still very thick. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
this soup was delicious! However, I found it to be thinner than what I pictured for a bisque....probably because I used frozen corn and 46 instead of 42 oz of broth though. i wound up blending about half of the soup in my bullet to give it more preferable consistancy. I also cooked and chopped up about a dozen jumbo shrimp which I added along with the crabmeat, and I'm glad i did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This Bisque was devine! I didnt have any problems with the consistency. I followed a few suggestions,I used old bay seasons and added cayenne pepper to my taste. I made a roux first with 3T of Butter & 3T of flour and set aside. I only used 1 can of stock and I used cream instead of milk or half & half. When the cream was added I added in the roux and whisked. I think what helped with the consistency as well was I diced a potato and added to the corn, stock mixture. I took out a cup of the bisque and pureed it and then added back to the bisque before adding the crab meat. I did also add a about a 1/4 cup of wine. I garnished with some crab meat. I have made with canned and fresh corn and a combination of both. Didnt affect the outcome a whole lot either way, it depends on your particular taste. I liked the combo. The flavor was oh so good!!! and so easy Thank you - a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States