Corn and Chicken Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I had leftover smoked chicken and ham. Made this recipe using fresh cut corn and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I made the recipe as written with the exception of using rotisserie chicken I had left over. After reading reviews, I cut down drastically on the thyme to less than half of the amount called for and still all I could taste was the thyme, and I don't think that particular herb compliments this dish. Maybe rosemary or tarragon might have been a better choice. I did have to thicken it up considerably, it was very thin before that. Oh, and I did add some frozen green beans to give the kids an extra veggie. My family didn't care for this and neither did I, so won't make it again. Not really any flavor to it, only the overpowering thyme taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Way Way WAY too much thyme! Barely edible. Unless you want thyme soup with chicken, try 1/2 tsp only of thyme and add salt. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I wonder if creme corn would be a good added touch..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was a delicious soup. I used cornstarch to thicken it and added extra meat. Once all was said and done it was more of a stew but it was really good that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Love it. Hate the potatoes in it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Was ok , not my best soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Yummy! I followed the technique of the reviewer, Gramma Gorgeous, and sauteed the onions, celery, ham & chicken. I also added some garlic & used Season All with black pepper while they were sauteing since my chicken broth was low sodium & the ham was honey ham. I used regular milk instead of skim to reduce the time needed to thicken it. Served it with cornbread & steamed broccoli. My picky 6 yr old even said it was "very good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this chowder with my 9 yr old son he loved to help it was quick easy and delicious....=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This was not very good. I used bacon instead of ham and 1/2 and 1/2 in place of milk but that wasn't the problem. It is bland. This chowder needs something other than thyme. I have made better chowders and would not recommend this one. It requires a lot of prep work and the results are disappointing. If you follow the recipe and don't make a lot of changes it isn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States