Corn and Chicken Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I think tihs would be good using whole milk, not skim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
absolutely yummy. my hubby loves it. i always double recipe, cause when i make it , it lasts less than 24 hours. thank you for such a great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Fantastic recipe - although I did modify it as follows: I used diced bacon instead of ham - and cooked the onion, celery and bacon first, then added uncut (boneless) chicken thighs and stock (no water added). I also used whole milk instead of skim, 1 can of corn instead of fresh corn and lots of potatoes. Added thyme, parsley and rosemary with pepper and a bit of salt. Used cornstarch to thicken. The result was great - I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This was a good recipe. I wouldnt say it was awsome, but I think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Gracemont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
Kinda bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
made with 2% milk, and skipped the chicken but added extra ham. Very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This is a good chowder, but I cooked it differently than the directions.This is the time of year I am looking for ways to use up corn and I even had ham leftover! I always begin my soups by cooking the onion and celery until the onion is transluscent, then add the meats and cook them, this draws out the good flavors and leaves little juicy bits in the pan,then the broth is added and the bits are scraped into the broth and other ingredients go in to simmer. I cut the recipe in half but used two stalks of celery including the leafy tops, and I toss a little (1 small clove) garlic or garlic powder and about a TB of parsley into all my soups.(I didn't use the thyme). Unless there is a reason to drastically cut ones fat intake I would recommend using whole milk or half skim and half cream to make a more creamy and palatable chowder. I prefer to use cornstarch to thicken soups, it's not so heavy and dissoves better.Also, I never add salt until the end if needed when using salty meat and broth. I debated about adding some cubed Velveeta,for a cheesy corn chowder,but decided not to this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
The soup was okay...comparable to the ones you get at WAWA or SEVEN-ELEVEN. I used whole milk instead of skim, and also used a little more cornstarch than the recipe called for. The texture was thick, but the taste just wasnt creamy, you can tell the soup is low-fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
We loved this soup! I was liberal with the ham and potatoes - I probally added more than the recipe called for but we liked that. Also, I reduced the thyme by half. Very thick but great chowder. My boyfriend said "this is great" about 15 times throughout dinner. Guess he likes it huh? A keeper recipe Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
We loved this stew! So easy and delicious. The entire family raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States