Corn and Chicken Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This recipe was yummy, I used creamed corn instead of regular corn for a thickener instead of potatoes. I also used fat free carnation milk for creamier taste....added extra spices and used the garlic and herb chicken broth...but very yummy and healthy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Good basic recipe to build off of and change to your taste. Skipped the bacon(dieting) Used broth in place of the water and used 1% milk and cornstarch instead of the flour. Used less corn, Really thick soup, not much broth but had good flavor and hubby enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
My husband made this soup first - shortly after we were married. He used already cooked chopped chicken from the freezer and frozen corn. Since then, I've made it the same way and he's requested it often. It's simple and doesn't require anything unusual. You can substitute bacon for the ham. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I love this recipe on a cold winter day. Great lowfat dish that is hearty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Used heavy cream instead of skim. Also used celery seed instead of the celery. This was O.K. but I really was expecting a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Very good, will make again. I used 2% based on other comments, it came out fine. Not as thick as a cream-based soup (versus broth-based), but still a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I made this wonderful dish and impressed the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I used all ham, Black Forest to be exact, instead of a mix of chicken and ham, but the main shortfall of this recipe is, it's bland. You'll need copious amounts of fresh ground salt, pepper, and perhaps some garlic salt to get it tasting right. I'd also suggest you use 2% milk for more richness with only a small increase in fat. If you go the crock pot route, this is an all day affair; it takes a long time to get the spuds cooked even cubed in relatively small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pet Terrier
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
Pretty good. Great flavor. Not a thick or creamy chowder when made as a low fat recipe, but enjoyable. Ignore the "20 servings" bit. My family of 4 only left 1 bowl of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonneauville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Great recipe for leftover Easter ham. Very good. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States