Corn and Chicken Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made a couple of changes. Used bacon instead of ham, used whole milk, used canned corn, and thickened with corn starch. It was so good - EXACTLY what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tapring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Very good. I didn't have ham so it was missing that salty ham flavor but I used half and half instead of skim milk to make up for the flavor and make it richer. I also omitted the thyme as we don't care for it. Will try with ham as recommended next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Really yummy. Next time I will make sure I use the full amount of corn called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
i put old bay seafood seasoning in place of the thyme. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
was really good and easy to instead of flour i used creamy peanut butter adding 2 tsb at a time untill i got the thickness i desired and it gave it alittle ZING to it(little sweet taste noticable but good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
We love this soup! I make it all the time. We half it for our family of 4 or do the regular recipe if we are having company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
The chowder is simmering on the stove this minute!! I omitted the ham, forgot the onion, added some carrot, used rotisserie chicken to save some time, added a tablespoon or two of chicken "better than boullion" to season it up, and used potato flakes to thicken it up.(maybe 2 or 3 tablespoons) Right now I'm contemplating adding any milk...tastes good as it is! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Easy and tastes good on a cool day! Also great for using up misc. veggies from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Way, way too much thyme. It actually ruined the whole pot. Otherwise, it probably would have been ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Very flavorful, full bodied, could serve as a dinner. Will definitely make again, enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States