Corn and Chicken Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Great base to allow yourself to customize to your own family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kootsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
My daughter and I made this soup together. We followed the recipe, but I didn't realize it was supposed to be low fat. We wanted a soup similar to Mimi's in CA, because her husband likes that. Would adjust it like this: Definitely too skinny. Need to make with at least half and half and still thicken it with corn starch. The real problem with the recipe, as I saw it, was that it called for adding the potatoes after the milk. It took forever for the potatoes to cook. It would work out much better to cook the potatoes with the other vegetables. It could use a little, not much, more flavoring, in addition to the thyme, but until I experiment, I won't know which. Oh, and much more corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This soup was really good, but in the future I will change a couple of things. I will use some butter to saute the veggies in or fry up some bacon instead of the ham. The skim milk made it way flat and bland tasting. Maybe add a little more corn and use whole milk or half and half. Otherwise a wonderful soup for the Fall weather. I would use instant mashed potatoes to thicken it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda of Mesa AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I think this chowder has a lot going for it, but needs some revisions. First of all, sautee the chicken until it's browned and then save to add to the soup later. Sautee the onions and celery too to draw out their flavor before adding the other ingredients. Skim milk is fine if you're watching calories, but be aware that it makes for a really, REALLY thin soup -not really a chowder consistency. After trying to thicken it up at the end (and that being time consuming), I think next time I'll bake a roux while getting the rest of the ingredients ready and thicken it up that way, like I do clam chowder. So bottom line is this: Sautee the veggies and chicken first, thicken with a roux, and add LOTS of salt and pepper. I think it might be worth five stars after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Very easy to make. Doesn't have the most flavor to it, but it is still good. I split it into portions and froze it and ate it for lunch for about 3 weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is really easy to whip up. To make it even quicker, I use instant potato flakes to make a thicker soup. I've made this twice now and have always been satisfied; its not too complicated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
this is very good. everyone i have given it to has LOVED IT!! thanks so much for this alternative to the normally gloppy clumpy cream mess.... this is a great change of pace!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Blandest thing on the planet. This one needs serious help. Maybe replacing the ham with bacon would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Delicious! I made this for my family over Christmas break (4 adults/3 kids). I was surprised by how much soup this made! Almost didn't fit in the pot! The best part...it's even better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made a couple of changes. Used bacon instead of ham, used whole milk, used canned corn, and thickened with corn starch. It was so good - EXACTLY what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tapring

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States