Corn and Cheddar Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This was a wonderful recipe. It smelled so wonderful. I did make a few changes in it though as I made it. I used about 1/2 cup wine. I added 1/4 tsp cracked red pepper. I also used I stalk of green onion instead of chives. I made this with a friend and we finished it the same night. I hope you enjoy making this as well as eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBATEMYPANTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I used vegetable stock and I didn't have any chives or wine so I had to leave them out. I only simmered this for about 20 minutes as the potatoes were done by then. My daughter and I really enjoyed this and it's on my make again list. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Very warm and comforting. I halved the cumin and put in 1/2 tsp basil instead of the sage (didn't have any) I also used green onion instead of chives. It came out lovely. I didn't have any seperation problems and simmered it a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I had this last night at a little get together and it was a hit! I added bacon and used the bacon fat instead of the butter to saute the onions and potato's. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Very delicious! I made a couple of adjustments - I toasted some minced garlic and added to the mixture while it was simmering. I also cut down the amount of cheese. I thought the full amount would overwhelm the other flavors of the soup. I will definitely make this again - maybe add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
my husband absolutely loved it. we finished the entire pot over the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAVYA29

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was really good. Very fresh tasting and I loved how easy it was too make. My only complaint was that I wish it had made more as there weren't any leftovers!! Next time, I might double the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This is a great recipe we have used for years! I have recently modified to use light cream and reduced fat cheddar. The creamy taste is still there, but hopefully, fewer calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is a great recipe! I made it for a family cooking day, and everyone really enjoyed it. I will definitely be using this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I don't think I would change a thing on this recipe. I did use a very good extra sharp white cheddar cheese and I think I could have cut back on it to lighten this up a little. Both dh & I think it's a keeper. My only problem was I only made 1/2 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States