Corn and Cheddar Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This was good, but I don't know if I'll make this again. I have an older recipe that I think I'll stick with. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Delicious! So hearty and comforting. The only changes I made were to omit the parsley - don't like it - and I used a little more cheese. Also, it took less than 30 mins for the potatoes to cook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I used vegetable stock and I didn't have any chives or wine so I had to leave them out. I only simmered this for about 20 minutes as the potatoes were done by then. My daughter and I really enjoyed this and it's on my make again list. Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was good, but it kind of separated out on me a little, due to the long simmering time after the addition of the flour. If I were to do it again, I would just add the flour and broth to the veggies, let that cook until the taters were tender, and then add the milk and let it thicken up. When I first added the milk, it had a beautiful texture, but broke up with all the simmering. I simmered at a low temp too. I used one Yukon Gold and one red potato. I used a mix of skim milk and fat-free evaporated milk, and added a bit of both extra milk and broth. Omitted the wine. I cut the cheese down to 1 cup. It was very rich and creamy, even with the skim milk. Served with focaccia bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is a great recipe! I made it for a family cooking day, and everyone really enjoyed it. I will definitely be using this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Very delicious! I made a couple of adjustments - I toasted some minced garlic and added to the mixture while it was simmering. I also cut down the amount of cheese. I thought the full amount would overwhelm the other flavors of the soup. I will definitely make this again - maybe add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This was a wonderful recipe. It smelled so wonderful. I did make a few changes in it though as I made it. I used about 1/2 cup wine. I added 1/4 tsp cracked red pepper. I also used I stalk of green onion instead of chives. I made this with a friend and we finished it the same night. I hope you enjoy making this as well as eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBATEMYPANTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I added some tarragon and garlic. Turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paojava

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This is a great recipe we have used for years! I have recently modified to use light cream and reduced fat cheddar. The creamy taste is still there, but hopefully, fewer calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States