Corn and Cheddar Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Holy moly! Recently became a vegetarian, and I was really missing a good seafood chowder on a cold fall day. This was better! My BF and roomie (both non vegetarians) said it smelled divine as it cooked, and were full after one bowl each! I got a little worried there wouldn't be enough, so I added a can of pinto beans with the corn. I also subbed veggie broth for chicken, tarragon for cumin (seriously try it!) and I didn't have white wine, so I added red. Made the colour a bit grey, but the boys didn't care. They've demanded this on a weekly bases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
It was very easy to make and came out great! I made some adjustments: instead of regular milk, I used Almond Milk; I added sausage to the recipe; used fresh corn instead of frozen corn, and reduced the simmer time to 20 minutes. Thanks for the recipe. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Sylvester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I actually loved this recipe as did everyone who tried it. Two different people mentioned that 1. it could have used some ham or 2. I would have added bacon. Even without the pork it was awesome but I will add it next time I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This was delicious, and very simple to make. The only change I made was to use vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. Next time, I would use fresh sage, added with the onions, and add w little cayenne or hot sauce. Not very much, but just to give it a little hint of heat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made a few changes. I had no sage or parsley, so I added dried tarragon. I also was out of wine so I used extra dry vermouth. I added a couple of cooked chicken breasts. The results were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Very good. I did not follow exactly- diced onion and five large potatoes, threw in a pot with about 5 tbsp butter and cooked until a bit soft, then added flour and mixed together. After the flour, I added three cups chicken broth and a 1/3 cup chopped celery. Added some salt, black pepper, white pepper, sage, and garlic. Cooked until potatoes were cooked through and soft and broth had thickened. The frozen corn went in for a few minutes so it did not over cook. Last I added the milk and cheese, and cooked until warmed through. It was very thick, the texture was nice, and the spices worked. A bit different from the original, but the essential elements were the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very good, nice and thick which is what I was looking for. I added chicken and we enjoyed it! Idid spice it up a bit, it was a bit bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I made this soup recently but did not add the wine as I didn't have any. It still tasted good, the rest I followed exactly. My husband thought it wasn't substantial enough to be a full meal, but I did. He tends to think every meal must include meat. I found it to be very tasty and filling, particularly if you add bread or some other side. I also liked it because it was easy to make and I had all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Great recipe! So delicious! I followed the recipe nearly exactly, just omitting the chives and parsley because I didn't have any. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe was just ok to me. I feel like the seasonings are a bit off or maybe it's missing something. I'm just not sure what. It's a decent recipe, but I think it needs a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States