Corn and Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
The seasonings are right on target. The only thing I feel it needed is a little chopped white, red or green onion. An easy and delicious summer meal idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I have to update my previous review, since I have been serving this for several years now. It has become a family favorite, and it's great to take on picnics, camping, and I have served it at company dinners. I have given the recipe out countless times. I do add celery and onions and I use a 15 oz. can of sweet corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Let's get this back up to 5 stars! This was yummy! I rinsed the beans, used frozen corn, added 3 green onions and some red, green, and yellow bell pepper. Didn't have cilantro, added some garlic powder. Started eating it a few minutes after putting it together - it was EXCELLENT. Don't know if it will make it to tomorrow to see how it tastes fully marinated. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Simple, easy, and delicious! This is a very light salad that has a lot of flavor. I used olive oil vs. veg. oil and 2 Tbsp. of cilantro. I added 2 Tbsp. of finely chopped red onion and used an 11 oz. can of no salt added sweet corn. Next time I might added a bit of chopped red pepper for come additional color and crunch. I let it chill for a few of hours before serving and it was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
I used this recipe as the foundation and made a few changes due to what I had on hand. I used one can each of garbanzo beans, black beans and kidney beans (red, white and blue) in lieu of the corn and black beans recommended (I'm sure would be excellent too). I also had no fresh cilatro on hand, which would have enhanced the flavor further, and used dried. It was tasty, especially the second day! My 4-year old wanted to know if he could just have a spoonful of the dressing! Would be great addition to a BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I actually amde some changes that made this outstanding. I used rice wine vinegar, dijon mustard, cumin, garlic powder and tabasco and whisked in olive oil. I also used scallions, a bel pepper, and a jalapeno pepper with the cornand balck beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
This is a very easy and delicious recipe to make. It has outstanding flavor. Additions that can enhance the taste are adding thinly sliced onions, and diced peppers. This brings some tang to the recipe although it is great by itself. I've made this several times already, and it has been a hit everywhere. Try it. You'll be happy you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This was so easy to make and it tasted AMAZING! I can't stop snacking on the leftovers. I served this salad along with Jay's Jerk Chicken, Black Bean and Mango Salsa, and Tropical Salad at a party on Saturday night. They were all hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I just love this recipe. I added chopped red bell pepper and some onion as someone else suggested and wow! Just the right amount of crunch and flavor. I will be making this one again and again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I thought this was pretty good! Very easy to make and it is can easily be changed, by adding some more spices or veggies. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States