Corn and Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
A great, easy recipe that's perfect for the summertime. I followed the recipe closely, but subbed olive oil for vegetable oil and also added one diced red bell pepper. If you don't like balsamic, this isn't for you, but I happen to love it. I think cilantro is key and if you're not a fan of cilantro, I'd go with parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I added finely diced onion and green bell pepper for additional color and crunch. I thought the balsamic was too overpowering when made as written. I added an extra can of black beans and additional corn (I used frozen) but it was still a little too vinegary. I will make again but decrease the balsamic. We ate half a few hours after being in the fridge and the res the next day. It was definitely better after sitting over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Way too vinegary for my taste. whew! I checked to see if I did everything right and it seems I did. I used balsalmic vinegar as called for. Maybe it was a bad brand. Don't know. I won't be making this again though w/o modificatioins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This recipe was the star of my fish tacos. We placed the corn and black bean salad in a soft taco, topped with a little cheese, then added grilled tilapia on top along with a slice of avocado. Yummy. A real keeper recipe. I did add a little red onion to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This recipe is awesome. It's great to serve over any lettuce mix and there's no need for any other salad dressing. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi Vernon Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This is a great side dish to use throughout the week. I ate it on wraps, salads, and all by itself. I only gave it 4 stars because I changed it a little bit- here is what I added: thinly sliced red onion, chopped red & green pepper... this added more of a crunch and was delish! I would also suggest using more cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jthefoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I really liked it but my husband said it was missing something. I added a red pepper & half a large onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Very tasty! I put it in the fridge, for a couple of hours, and then went to try a little bit to see if it was good...and I almost ate the whole thing! LOL This salad is now part of my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is a good basic recipe that can be eaten as is, which is very tasty or can be altered by adding additional ingredients if you happened to have more on hand. I added green pepper and some red onion since I wanted to add more color and nutrition. Since Balsamic vinegar can be a little strong for my tastes, I only used 1/2 what the recipe called for. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. It marinated in my fridge only for a few hours before I used it inside my chicken and cheese quesadillas that I was making. I am sure it would be good as a side, but I really liked it as a filler to my quesadillas. Ate the rest for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Delicious and even better the next day when we used in quesadillas. It was sweet in a sort of unexpected way but was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States