Corn and Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This recipe is great as written, but it is very forgiving. Don't be afraid to use any combination of vinegars if you don't have balsamic. I usually add chopped red onion and chopped avocado, which I soak in lemon juice. Anything you add can only enhance it, in my opinion. Chopped red or other colored peppers are another nice addition. Have consistently received high compliments whenever I serve this. The only unfortunate thing is that I never have any leftovers! :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Great, Added fresh minced garlic bud to the dressing and put in a jar in the fridge until needed. Mix any beans and/or veggies, quinoa, rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I LOVE black beans! I sooooo wanted to LOVE this. But, I had to toss it. The vinegar was the problem. I made it a second time...omitting the vinegar/oil/sugar; instead, I used juice from a fresh lime. SO MUCH BETTER!! I hate to toss out anything...so I tried making enchiladas from the first batch. Even enchilada sauce and cheese couldn't wipe out the taste of the vinegar for me. Sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was very fresh side dish...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Nice option for beans at our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Loved it. I used dried beans that i soaked overnight and cooked the next day. Added green onions which gave it a great flavor. In short, easy and delicious.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Loved it even more the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Big hit at church potluck! Prepared just as written and it was GONE! (Doubled recipe!!) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Love this as a base recipe. Can add what you want/like. We like with green peppers and used white corn instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Wonderful flavor! I followed the recipe as directed substituting frozen corn for canned and omitting cilantro (kids don't care for it). I doubled the recipe and served it along side brown rice with optional toppings of fresh tomatoes and avocado to make it a full meal. A huge hit! The salad has wonderful flavor with just the right amount of spice. Highly recommend! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States