Corn and Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
surprisingly simple & good. fresh cilantro is key
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Took this to a party as an appitizer dip for tostido scoops. But most people were eating as a side dish. They couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I'd give this 10 stars if I could!! This has become my favorite side dish of all time. It goes with everything (at least when I'm cooking) but I love to serve it with tacos as it makes a great topper. All of the ingredients are things I have in hand and it's so quick to throw together. Not being a big fan of spicy I was a little leery of chili powder and cumin but they give just enough zest without being overpoweringly hot. I do often add some dried minced onion and garlic, and I skip the cilantro. My dad's only complaint is that every time I make this he eats too much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
DELICIOUS! I also added 1/2 cup each of finely chopped white onion, celery and red pepper. The marinade is really tasty and plentiful - I doubled the amount of corn and black beans while keeping the marinade ingredients in the given amounts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I am mixed on this one. I think the balsamic kinda ruined it. The vinegar was so over powering. I wish I would have added that last and tasted it as I was adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is really good! I love that leftovers are good, too! It has just the right combo of flavors in the dressing, although the balsamic vinegar is kind of dark. We love cilantro, and I know I used at least 1/4 c. I also added half of a red bell pepper for flavor, and I wish I had an avocado. It would be a perfect addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is so delicious! We ate it on its own as a side to dinner and then I used the leftovers the next day in a taco salad. So simple, but the flavors are great and it gets better the more it sits. The only changes I made were adding in a tomato and a small red onion (both diced). This will be a new staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I've actually made this before even reading this recipe (thought I pulled something out of my creativity hat! ha). I add a little chopped green onion/chopped bell pepper/tomatoes/cucumber/ and jalapenos. I use red wine vinaigrette for the dressing. This is a tasty salad.... :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Pasquinelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Good recipe, but would prefer without cilantro. Added in some diced green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was very good. I had to dress it up a bit. I added chopped red pepper and red onion, crushed red pepper flakes, garlic powder, seasoned salt and more fresh ground pepper. It was MUCH better after it marinated over night. The vinegar taste was just right. I think it would be terrific with avacado. I used fresh corn(2) that I cut off the cob after I cooked it. I think next time I will cut down on the sugar. The fresh corn was very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States