Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
marinate, use 1/2 onion add avocada after. This could be served with chick or grilled fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Fabulous recipe. Made for a family gathering and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was tasty, although I had to make some changes out of necessity: my avocado was unusable, so that was out; instead I used a peeled and seeded chopped tomato, and I used roasted red pepper and then a green bell pepper. It tasted pretty good, although I would have loved to taste the avocado. Next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was ok. I only used 2 ears of corn because that's all I had - should have used 3. I used 1 avocado, because I thought that was more than enough....I also reduced the amount of cumin, cilantro, red pepper flakes, red pepper and onion. The end result tasted very much like red wine vinegar - I would certainly reduce the amount, maybe even omit it if I were to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written. It was great. I made it the night before then added the avacado right before serving. We served it on the side with grilled fish at a cook off and won first place. More people asked us for this recipe than the grilled fish. I am making it again this weekend for another bar-b-que to serve with a grilled jalapeno stuffed chicken recipe from this web site. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
if you follow the instructions add 1 to the serves total, that way there will be enough when it gets to the table.... great salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I omitted the red wine vinegar because I didn't want such an acidic salad, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very, VERY good! Okay, so I normally think of this kind of stuff as "foo-foo" gourmet and don't even consider making it. BUT, since I was hosting a Fish Taco dinner party, I figured I needed to impress, I went for it. I made about 1-1/2 times the recipe, as I wanted to serve it both with chips as an appetizer and with the Fish Tacos (recipe from this site). I let it sit in the fridge for a few hours to mingle flavors and I think that was a good idea--I wouldn't serve this right off of the chopping board. Anyway, I had to fill up the appetizer bowl about 4 times, and the regular 'ol tomato salsa from the jar barely even got touched. It tasted even better on the tacos. My husand ate about 1/3 cup just as a "taster" before anyone even came over. So, huge success, and I will make this again :-) OH! Do wear gloves when handling the jalapenos, my fingers burned for several hours after making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I have made a similar recipe from the Moosewood cookbook. Both are fabulous! I can eat the entire bowl as a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was great, I couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States