Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
marinate, use 1/2 onion add avocada after. This could be served with chick or grilled fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Fabulous recipe. Made for a family gathering and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was tasty, although I had to make some changes out of necessity: my avocado was unusable, so that was out; instead I used a peeled and seeded chopped tomato, and I used roasted red pepper and then a green bell pepper. It tasted pretty good, although I would have loved to taste the avocado. Next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was ok. I only used 2 ears of corn because that's all I had - should have used 3. I used 1 avocado, because I thought that was more than enough....I also reduced the amount of cumin, cilantro, red pepper flakes, red pepper and onion. The end result tasted very much like red wine vinegar - I would certainly reduce the amount, maybe even omit it if I were to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written. It was great. I made it the night before then added the avacado right before serving. We served it on the side with grilled fish at a cook off and won first place. More people asked us for this recipe than the grilled fish. I am making it again this weekend for another bar-b-que to serve with a grilled jalapeno stuffed chicken recipe from this web site. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
if you follow the instructions add 1 to the serves total, that way there will be enough when it gets to the table.... great salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I omitted the red wine vinegar because I didn't want such an acidic salad, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very, VERY good! Okay, so I normally think of this kind of stuff as "foo-foo" gourmet and don't even consider making it. BUT, since I was hosting a Fish Taco dinner party, I figured I needed to impress, I went for it. I made about 1-1/2 times the recipe, as I wanted to serve it both with chips as an appetizer and with the Fish Tacos (recipe from this site). I let it sit in the fridge for a few hours to mingle flavors and I think that was a good idea--I wouldn't serve this right off of the chopping board. Anyway, I had to fill up the appetizer bowl about 4 times, and the regular 'ol tomato salsa from the jar barely even got touched. It tasted even better on the tacos. My husand ate about 1/3 cup just as a "taster" before anyone even came over. So, huge success, and I will make this again :-) OH! Do wear gloves when handling the jalapenos, my fingers burned for several hours after making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I have made a similar recipe from the Moosewood cookbook. Both are fabulous! I can eat the entire bowl as a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was great, I couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States