Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I omitted the red wine vinegar because I didn't want such an acidic salad, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very, VERY good! Okay, so I normally think of this kind of stuff as "foo-foo" gourmet and don't even consider making it. BUT, since I was hosting a Fish Taco dinner party, I figured I needed to impress, I went for it. I made about 1-1/2 times the recipe, as I wanted to serve it both with chips as an appetizer and with the Fish Tacos (recipe from this site). I let it sit in the fridge for a few hours to mingle flavors and I think that was a good idea--I wouldn't serve this right off of the chopping board. Anyway, I had to fill up the appetizer bowl about 4 times, and the regular 'ol tomato salsa from the jar barely even got touched. It tasted even better on the tacos. My husand ate about 1/3 cup just as a "taster" before anyone even came over. So, huge success, and I will make this again :-) OH! Do wear gloves when handling the jalapenos, my fingers burned for several hours after making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I have made a similar recipe from the Moosewood cookbook. Both are fabulous! I can eat the entire bowl as a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was great, I couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I made this for an appetizer for a dinner with friends and everyone loved it. I made a few changes, though... I used a can of corn instead of fresh and added 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 can of black bean, drained and rinsed. I left out the red bell pepper and the red pepper flakes because I didn't have them on hand. I also used a yellow onion instead of red because that's what I had. I used less (about half)cilantro because I didn't want it to be too strong. I could taste it but it wasn't overpowering. I mixed everything but the avocado together and put it in the fridge for an hour or two while I prepared the rest of the dinner. Just before serving, I added the avocado. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Make sure to add alot of the other vegetables besides corn to balance out its flavor. Think two avocados two bell peppers and 1/4 cup cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
We have updated this recipe at the submitter's request. It now has cilantro in place of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Just needed to toss in a little fresh cilantro and it was AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle & Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wells, Vermont, USA
Living In: Poultney, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Mmmmm.... I used one can of corn and black beans each, drained; the full amount of cumin and then some; a touch of smoked paprika; and one diced jalapeno instead of the crushed red pepper. Oh...and I kept the pits in the container to keep the avocado from turning colour. A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I LOVE this salsa!! It's one of my go-to meals actually. I always use a can of corn and I also throw in a can of black beans (both drained and rinsed). I only ever use half a red onion cause I presonally think that the onion taste is WAY too strong otherwise. I let the whole mixture (minus the avocado - since it would brown) marinate for a few hours. When ready to eat, I throw in the avocado (just one) and serve with either Tostitos Lime chips or Black Bean Chips. SO DELICIOUS! I think its a perfect dinner for two. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States