Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very good salsa. I made exactly as the recipe stated - next time I think I will add some black beans with jalepenos. The recipe servings is 4 - but really it makes alot. I doubled it because I was expecting 12 - a single batch served with tortilla chips would have been just fine..had too much left over. Remember to cube the avocados as the recipe states...I was in mincing mode and mine were not big enough. Hopefully next time mine will look more like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Did not measure ingredients but I followed basic recipe. I did use canned corn because no fresh corn available. Served as a side to baked cod with some cajun seasoning on it. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Excellent! I tooki it a little easy on the cumin (used about half as much) and the onion (I'm a raw onion hater, but I conceed to a few for MrB), but otherwise made as directed. Loved the lightness of the oil and vinegar with the lime. We had this with tortilla chips, but both of us found ourselfs eating it with a spoon. MrB is adding black beans to the leftovers tomorrow to roll in tortillas for lunch. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is one of my go-to dishes, especially for parties. I always receive compliments and never have left-overs! Like other reviews have suggested, I also add in a can of black beans. Quick tip: soap and water won't take the residue from the jalapenos off your hands, but olive oil will. Just rub some on your hands, then wash and dry. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
marinate, use 1/2 onion add avocada after. This could be served with chick or grilled fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Fabulous recipe. Made for a family gathering and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was tasty, although I had to make some changes out of necessity: my avocado was unusable, so that was out; instead I used a peeled and seeded chopped tomato, and I used roasted red pepper and then a green bell pepper. It tasted pretty good, although I would have loved to taste the avocado. Next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was ok. I only used 2 ears of corn because that's all I had - should have used 3. I used 1 avocado, because I thought that was more than enough....I also reduced the amount of cumin, cilantro, red pepper flakes, red pepper and onion. The end result tasted very much like red wine vinegar - I would certainly reduce the amount, maybe even omit it if I were to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written. It was great. I made it the night before then added the avacado right before serving. We served it on the side with grilled fish at a cook off and won first place. More people asked us for this recipe than the grilled fish. I am making it again this weekend for another bar-b-que to serve with a grilled jalapeno stuffed chicken recipe from this web site. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
if you follow the instructions add 1 to the serves total, that way there will be enough when it gets to the table.... great salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States