Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I made this for an appetizer for a dinner with friends and everyone loved it. I made a few changes, though... I used a can of corn instead of fresh and added 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 can of black bean, drained and rinsed. I left out the red bell pepper and the red pepper flakes because I didn't have them on hand. I also used a yellow onion instead of red because that's what I had. I used less (about half)cilantro because I didn't want it to be too strong. I could taste it but it wasn't overpowering. I mixed everything but the avocado together and put it in the fridge for an hour or two while I prepared the rest of the dinner. Just before serving, I added the avocado. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Make sure to add alot of the other vegetables besides corn to balance out its flavor. Think two avocados two bell peppers and 1/4 cup cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
We have updated this recipe at the submitter's request. It now has cilantro in place of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Just needed to toss in a little fresh cilantro and it was AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle & Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wells, Vermont, USA
Living In: Poultney, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Mmmmm.... I used one can of corn and black beans each, drained; the full amount of cumin and then some; a touch of smoked paprika; and one diced jalapeno instead of the crushed red pepper. Oh...and I kept the pits in the container to keep the avocado from turning colour. A keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I LOVE this salsa!! It's one of my go-to meals actually. I always use a can of corn and I also throw in a can of black beans (both drained and rinsed). I only ever use half a red onion cause I presonally think that the onion taste is WAY too strong otherwise. I let the whole mixture (minus the avocado - since it would brown) marinate for a few hours. When ready to eat, I throw in the avocado (just one) and serve with either Tostitos Lime chips or Black Bean Chips. SO DELICIOUS! I think its a perfect dinner for two. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I would cut the amount of cumin in half. Otherwise, this salsa has a nice crispness & bright color with the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I loved it! Okay...so I made a few changes. Here's what I did, but it came out great. I used one can or corn, drained instead of fresh corn. I omitted the red pepper (I had none at the time). I added one can of beans, drained & rinsed. I used kidney beans because I had no black beans. I added one jalapeno pepper, finely minced...because we love picante in my family. I omitted the crush red pepper flakes...preferring the fresh jalapeno oer the dried red pepper. I substituted fresh cilantro for the fresh oreano. Itw as a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I love the idea of this recipe but it was inedible. it might be better if there were different seasoning and definately less vinegar and or lime juice. i love sour food but this was way too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
The corn salsa was really great in that it tasted as good as it was easy to make. I didn't have any red wine vinegar on me or red onions (i used yellow), but that didn't seem to have an adverse effect. It still tasted really good. One thing i'd change for the future would be to cut down on the cumin. I added just a pinch less than a tbspoon but it still tasted very Mexican-ish(which gave it that extra punch). overall--great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States