Corn and Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
A variation of this is always a favorite when I bring it in to work, and it isn't unusual for me to be stopped and asked WHEN I'll bring in more. I use 4-3-2-1: 4 ears fresh white corn, 3 avocados (not too ripe), 2 medium tomatos, 1 white onion. Cilantro and Lime Juice to taste. cut kernels off ears, cook in a frying pan w/ tablespoon of olive oil until it starts to carmelize. Meanwhile dice other ingredients into bowl. Pour corn into bowl and mix. Add a qtr cup water to frying pan, scrape and reduce leavings until consistency of a thin sauce, pour over bowl, mix. Add lime juice & minced cilantro. chill. Adding the reduced sauce from the frying pan is important, it adds a lot of extra flavor. I am a pepperhead and enjoy extremely spicy food, but I keep this mild and simple so everyone can enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very good salsa. I made exactly as the recipe stated - next time I think I will add some black beans with jalepenos. The recipe servings is 4 - but really it makes alot. I doubled it because I was expecting 12 - a single batch served with tortilla chips would have been just fine..had too much left over. Remember to cube the avocados as the recipe states...I was in mincing mode and mine were not big enough. Hopefully next time mine will look more like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Did not measure ingredients but I followed basic recipe. I did use canned corn because no fresh corn available. Served as a side to baked cod with some cajun seasoning on it. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Excellent! I tooki it a little easy on the cumin (used about half as much) and the onion (I'm a raw onion hater, but I conceed to a few for MrB), but otherwise made as directed. Loved the lightness of the oil and vinegar with the lime. We had this with tortilla chips, but both of us found ourselfs eating it with a spoon. MrB is adding black beans to the leftovers tomorrow to roll in tortillas for lunch. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is one of my go-to dishes, especially for parties. I always receive compliments and never have left-overs! Like other reviews have suggested, I also add in a can of black beans. Quick tip: soap and water won't take the residue from the jalapenos off your hands, but olive oil will. Just rub some on your hands, then wash and dry. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
marinate, use 1/2 onion add avocada after. This could be served with chick or grilled fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Fabulous recipe. Made for a family gathering and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was tasty, although I had to make some changes out of necessity: my avocado was unusable, so that was out; instead I used a peeled and seeded chopped tomato, and I used roasted red pepper and then a green bell pepper. It tasted pretty good, although I would have loved to taste the avocado. Next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was ok. I only used 2 ears of corn because that's all I had - should have used 3. I used 1 avocado, because I thought that was more than enough....I also reduced the amount of cumin, cilantro, red pepper flakes, red pepper and onion. The end result tasted very much like red wine vinegar - I would certainly reduce the amount, maybe even omit it if I were to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written. It was great. I made it the night before then added the avacado right before serving. We served it on the side with grilled fish at a cook off and won first place. More people asked us for this recipe than the grilled fish. I am making it again this weekend for another bar-b-que to serve with a grilled jalapeno stuffed chicken recipe from this web site. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Avocado Salsa

A cool avocado salsa with corn, olives, and red peppers in a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States