Corn and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Pretty good, but, given my "tweaks," I thought it only fair to give this recipe only four stars as written. Rather than use prepared/commercial dressings, I used a quarter-cup each of olive oil and wine vinegar ... and three tablespoons of crumbled bleu cheese. I also used half of the called-for bacon; just didn't think it needed all eight slices. I also eliminated the lettuce altogether and added a diced tomato and a diced cucumber. This will be my lunch at the office next week. Oh ... and, perhaps because of my cutting back on the bacon and eliminating the bottled dressings, I found the final salad benefited by the addition of healthy pinch of Kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
We try to eat mostly raw, colorful vegetables and use meat as a side dish. This recipe didn't mention cooking the corn, so I didn't. Everything else was exactly as written, except instead of 2 heads of butter lettuce, I substituted baby greens for 1 of the heads of lettuce. We *loved* it. The corn was sweet and crunchy! I was afraid it would be too oniony, but the flavors came together very well. We forgot to add the crumbled bacon to the salad, but definitely will next time, as I think it will help by being a salty complement to the somewhat sweet dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Left out the bacon. For the dressing I used some balsamic vinegar, EVOO and 3-cheese Ranch dressing in the dressing portion. This would be great if you did the corn on the BBQ first before cutting it off the cob. I think this makes way more than 4 servings, and so we couldn't keep the leftovers because the avocados were brown and mushed up with everything. Still good though, will just make less of it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
My go-to recipe for pot luck salads in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This salad was so good. I made a different dressing - I used ranch dressing mixed with hot sauce and smashed avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Very tasty and family approved. Changes to recipe: omitted bacon and lettuce (due to kid's preferences) and used about 1/4 cup red wine vinegar instead of red wine and vinegar salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Very good. Not for the calorie conscious, but a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was really good. I roasted my corn on the grill brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with garlic salt first. Also added cucumber. I'm surprised not more people have tried and rated with recipe. Great summer salad. Dressing was unbelievably good. Not hard to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Recipe was very good. Other than adding some tomatoes, I followed the recipe as is. Salad dressing a tad too sweet - would use 1/2 the honey next time. Also, the corn, avocado, peppers, bacaon, etc. were very "heavy" and made their way down to the bottom of the salad bowl - next time I will arrange the salad on individual salad plates and drizzle the salad dressing on top for a more appealing and dramatic look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
What a great salad! I made the dressing with a balsamic vinegarette and peppercorn ranch (that's what I had on hand) but still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States