Corn Yeast Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I read the reviews and approached this recipe with much caution. I followed the recipe as close as I could using a Kitchaid instead of a bread machine, but I only used 2.5 cups of flour, adding A alternately 2 tablespoons of either flour or cornmeal until the dough made a ball and was just a little sticky. I served it with taco soup, my family ate every crumb, not saving me any to see how it does the next day... yes, its a 5 star. Thankyou for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Anderson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Yum! Delicious! My husband (and I) loved these and he's very picky. Didn't have a huge "corn" taste, but had all the yummyness of yeast rolls, and a pretty yellow color. Super easy starting them in the bread machine. I had to add some water, a little at a time as my machine was kneading, to bring the dough from stiff/crumbly to smooth and elastic, probably ended up being between 1/8 to 1/4 cup. I didn't check my first batch early enough and the temp/time stated made them burn- Rats! Tried again, baking at 350, and they were done perfectly in 25 minutes. With butter and honey? Wowie!! a bite of heaven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These have a great flavor. Mine turned out a little dense, but I think I didn't let them rise long enough on the first rise. I don't have a bread maker, so I just kneaded them on my Kitchenaid and let them rise then punched them down and formed them into rolls. I substituted White Lily flour for half the all-purpose to lighten them up a little bit. The directions on timing are definitely wrong - mine took 20 minutes also. I brushed them with butter half way through cooking to give them a nice golden crust. I think this dough might make really good deep dish pizza crust too - I will definitely play around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
If you're looking for a recipe similar to Pillsbury corn bread twists look no further. I have been searching for something like this for years. I did have to add 2 tablespoons melted margarine and 3 tablespoons milk. If you want a similar taste to the Pillsbury twists I'd recommend using melted butter instead of the oil and margarine. That'll be my next try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBanjo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harbor Beach, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cotopaxi, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I had to add another 1/2 cup of water and only baked them for 15 minutes, but I got 12 lovely baseball sized rolls out of this recipe...I would definetly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
They needed more water in my bread machine. They tasted good even though they were a little hard. The day after they were as hard as rocks though and thats why i gave it a 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
The recipe worked up fine. The rolls were not popular with my family. They were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Yum! Thanks Judy! I made these exactly as recipe states. I did need to add more water (I used water and milk powder instead of milk, easier to get room temp)during the kneading. But I always test the dough for stiffness during the second knead. Please folks, remember that making breads and doughs in the bread machine still requires you to check the dough during kneading. Adding more liquid or flour according to how the dough feels. During the second knead it should feel sticky, like tape. For reference I like to fold a piece of scotch tape and tape to top of bread machine. I tap my finger on it to get a feel for what the dough should fel like, then I touch the dough. Adding more liquid or flour as needed. (I remove the tape before baking happens) All that said, these rolls are wonderful!!! A nice delicate crunch from the corn, and a lovely yeast fragrance and flavor! I am making these to take to Thanksgiving dinner! ***I forgot to state that I did only bake these for 15 minues (I am sure 45 is a typo) and got 10 huge rolls. You could easily make them smaller and get around 18-20 perfect dinner sized rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I made this into a 9 x 5 loaf, baking for about 50 minutes. I used about 1 c. whole wheat flour and 1.5 c. bread flour. Made this way, this bread is particularly good with peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
After reading the comments I started with 3/4 cup of milk and only 2.5 cups of flour. But I still had to add additional liquid. I got 12 rolls which I baked in a muffin tin for 15 minutes. If I was rating the recipe as written, it really deserves a 1. With a few minor alterations its is quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States