Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
That was my first time making tortillas ever; they were delicious!!!!! The dough texture seemed weird (pretty flaky) at first but I gave them a try anyway. Btw, I used 2 cups of maseca and 1 and a half cup water approximately. Make sure after you uncover the dough to keep it moist, away from drying sources. I rolled the dough between two pieces of parchment paper, and had no problems with stickyness. I couldn't quite make them round, so after rolling and before putting them in the pan I cut them in rectangular, triangular, etc pieces and sticked them in the pan. The most important thing in this process is to not forget to cover them after you take them out of the pan. I put them in a plastic bowl with lid. When I took them out of the pan they were hard, but after taking them out of the bowl they were soft and delicious! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is the same recipe I remember my ama Louisa (grandma) making evert morning when I was a little girl in Mexeco.The tortllas do rise when properly made.It is the heated air separating the tortillas into two layers.When it cools it will become flat again.If it doesn't rise it will be tougher not as tasty.This takes a lot of practice to get consistantly.Smaller tortillas are easier to get to rise until you get more practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
THANK YOU to all of those who posted helpful hints. These are wonderful while camping in the mountains. Incredibly easy to make and taste even better when in the wilderness! You should have seen the look I received from the other campers who smelled the fresh tortillas being cooked by a Gringo, absolutely priceless! We made Fish Tacos from the trout we caught earlier in the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imperial Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
WOW! ok, I made these last night and don't have a tortilla press (or a rolling pin... ehem... or...erm...plastic wrap...) so what I did was: wrapped it in foil for the 30 minutes (stayed warm, that's for sure). Then, for the pressing out into 15 tortillas--they were a tad thick, but so yummy!! I used my fingers on a plate, which I'd then use a spatula to flip over on the plate, press out some more, flip, press, flip, press.... I then rubbed a VERY SMALL amount of salt (I measured 1 tsp into a small dish and then just dabbed my fingers on it) so with the final "pressing out" I'd rub in the salt. Very tasty indeed. Also, I used BLUE masa harina so I have these awesome purple tortillas which look like flowers. Hehehehe... oh, and they had to most definitely cook for almost 1 min-1.5 mins on each side, if not longer, since they were sort of thick. But overall, INCREDIBLE! I do want to try adding some lime juice like someone else suggested, I bet that would rock. Then again, lime seems to be my favorite... mmm... quadruple thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
very GOOD very EASY thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
These are my family's favorite tortillas. I sometimes add some chili powder to the mix. I usually fry them in hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
My tortillas weren't the pretties (I had to use a rolling pin) but they were delicious! Very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie 2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Delicious, and very filling. I'm a bit embarrassed to admit it didn't work for me the first time since this Midwest native didn't appreciate the difference between corn meal and masa harina. I got some Maseca, and all was well. I definitely recommend using a tortilla press and parchment; I had to turn and re-press mine a number of times to get them evenly thin (I suspect my tortilla press is pretty basic), and obviously the parchment made that much easier. I tried a non-stick pan at first, but have settled on a stainless steel one. I also found I was overcooking them at first-- really, watch the 30 seconds per side carefully to get a tortilla that's "done," but flexible. And do wrap them in a clean dish towel once cooked; they stay soft as they cool, and I think the heat they initially retain while stacked against each other finishes out the cooking process. By forming balls somewhere between the size of a golf ball and racquetball, I get a tortilla about the size of a saucer or cd: Comparable in size to grocery store corn tortillas, but far superior in taste and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Hubby & I visited a Mexican food market this weekend to buy some chorizo. He saw the tortilla presses & of course, had to have one. ;o) Like Serena, he used parchment paper instead of plastic wrap. He was whipping out tortillas just like the pros....the show-off! LOL We placed them in a tortilla warmer once cooked & then heated them up for a minute in the microwave. Spread w/ butter & sprinkled w/ salt, they tasted quite authentic. Thansk for the recipe Gloria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
We loved these. I do not have a tortilla press so I put the balls of dough between two freezer bags and used the bottom of a small skillet as my press and then rolled it out a little thinner with my rolling pin(do not roll past the edges as it makes them too thin and then it is hard to get the tortilla off the plastic). I peeled off one bag and laid the tortilla on my hand and peeled the other bag off and laid it on the skillet. The tortillas were only about 4-5 inches in diameter. Only a few of them puffed up a little when I cooked them and they do not really brown. I just turned them when they looked tan instead of white on the top and took them off when the underside had little browned spots on it or it looked cooked. I might try them with a little salt next time. It's hard to explain how something so bland and tasteless on its own can taste so awesome when eaten with whatever you put in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelek
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Ashford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States