Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Perfect. Husband's grandma was visiting from Mexico & I watched her. Keep it simple & use water & a little salt. It doesn't look like one giant ball of dough after mixing. More like pie crust with pea sized clumps. Just pick some up, press into a ball and use a tortilla press. I cooked in a cast iron skillet. Husband likes homemade salsa and crumcled queso fresco on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These turned out great, the only changes I made were that I added a tablespoon of lard and a pinch of salt. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Add pinch of salt and a small hand-full of shredded cheese and some bacon bits to give a much different taste. Flatten to about 3/16 inch using the heal of your hand on plastic (food bag) . Transfer to your hand. Peel plastic and flop onto hot dry frying pan, preferably cast iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Simple as possible. Great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
So good and so easy to make! We had tostadas with these and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Here is the real thing. 1 1/2 cups water, 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup corn meal, 1 egg, 1 tsp salt. Heat a bit of oil in small skillet, pour scant 1/4 cup batter, rotate pan. Cook until edges dry. Deep fry folding in half until cooked to desired crispness. It takes a little practice but is absoltely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
First time making tortillas. I made lots and we enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Addendum: If you make the tortillas ''right'' they WILL puff up (or hinflar as we latin people say), no baking powder is needed. If you go to a tortilla making factory you will see the freshly made tortillas come out of the machine puffed up then flatten as they come off the conveyor belt. The trick to do this at home is to have made the masa done just right, then put it on the skillet and leave it to cook on one side for about 20 seconds then flip it over to the uncooked side and leave it for 10 seconds, then keep flipping it over every 10 seconds or so and press lightly on the corn tortilla occasionally. In some cases you will see some bubble on the surface of the tortilla, on others you will see it puff up dramatically (if you achieve this, congrats....you're Pro). Another tip is to make sure you have a thick cloth or tortilla holder ready and soon as the tortillas come off the comal/skillet, stick em in there and just keep putting in all your tortillas until done then wait about 3 min. Your tortillas will be soft and the final test for perfection is when you can take one tortilla and roll it tightly in your palm without it breaking. Viva tradicion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenGhoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Very good and very easy. Next time i will try making them with broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Pretty good stuff. I did add a little salt to my dough. Having trouble separating the plastic from the tortilla? Hold the tortilla (with plastic on both sides) in one hand and gently peel the plastic away from the tortilla (NOT the tortilla from the plastic. Then flip tortilla to the other hand and repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States