Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Easy and great tasting. I added 2 tablespoons of splenda to add a wee bit of additional flavor and I used a butter spray when cooking them. I will never buy store bought tortillas again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Didnt come out at all. It had hard time keeping together keep breaking apart!sorry will never make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
While this is correct way of making tortillas, it is much more time consuming and expensive. I go to my local tortilla maker. (Usually in an hispanic side of town). either way just tell them you want a few pounds of masa. This is already pre-made and cost about 80 cents a pound. All you have to do is roll out out thin. Another thing you can do is make some Gordita's with the same masa. Just make a small ball and press it down with a plate until is about 3/8 inch thick or so. Cook it slow on a grill, careful not to burn the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I thought for sure after the reviews I'd find a way to mess these up but I didn't. My dough started rather dry and crumbly so I added drops of water a couple of drops at a time until the dough stuck together WITHOUT sticking to my hands. I don't have a press so I pressed them between pieces of parchment, flattening them with the bottom of a pan, then rolling them to the desired thickness with a rolling pin. I used a teflon pan as I have a comal but it doesn't do me any good on this lousy sealed electric stove top (Oh, how I've missed gas these past 6 years) and I had no problem, they turned out fine. Lastly, I made sure they went straight from the pan to a bowl with a lid and they were perfect! I will never again buy store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I was taught in Honduras to use shortening in the recipe, about a tablespoon, which helps make the masa smoother and also keeps the tortillas from sticking so bad. Use crisco if you dont want to use lard. I buy maseca white but you can find it yellow, which I think is grittier but gives it a more Mexican taste than my host fam likes (they like the smoother white cornmeal). My host Mom also suggested adding just a little bit of coconut milk instead of water if you want to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I think I must have done something wrong because these did not turn out well at all. First of all, my dough wouldn't stick together and was crumbling everywhere, so I had to add more water to keep it together. Then when I rolled the balls out, they started crumbling again and when I tried to cook them, they cooked unevenly. I ended up having to throw the whole thing away and buy tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I used whole milk instead of cream and it was still the best cornbread I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is the basic corn tortilla recipe. If you want more flavor, just add salt, granulated garlic, onion power, pepper...whatever you want. We don't have a tortilla press, so what we do is cut a gallon sized Ziploc bag down the sides. We take the tortilla mix into a ball and place it in the middle of one of the plastic sides. Then bring the other side down on top of the ball. We use a small plastic cutting board (probably 10" x 6") to press the ball into tortillas. They flatten pretty easily. Just peel the plastic off the top of the tortilla and carefully peel the tortilla into your hand. We use a cast iron griddle to cook them on. If your tortillas stick, then they are too wet. If they crumble, they are too dry. You don't need any special equipment to make these. They are great with soup, as "open face" tacos, and the like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Crandon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Alrighty!! I make homemade corn tortillas everyday. There was a previous comment about the tortillas not puffing up. Well, they should puff up. The steam that is trapped within the tortillas makes the tortillas a lot softer. The trick to this is knowing when to flip the tortillas. When you first make the Masa dough, knead the dough for about two minutes. The masa should not stick to your hands and cleans the sides of the bowl. You're griddle should be on Med. High. Lay your tortilla on the griddle when the tortillas doesn't stick flip it, then when you see golden brown marks on the edge of the tortilla, flip again. Gently press the tortilla in the middle to help it fluff. And there you go. It's not very time consuming. Just have to get into the practice of it. But whatever you do, DON'T add lime!! Or baking powder! The recipe above IS the way they make it in Mexico - that's where I learned. Hope this was helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Shurts
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Perfect. Husband's grandma was visiting from Mexico & I watched her. Keep it simple & use water & a little salt. It doesn't look like one giant ball of dough after mixing. More like pie crust with pea sized clumps. Just pick some up, press into a ball and use a tortilla press. I cooked in a cast iron skillet. Husband likes homemade salsa and crumcled queso fresco on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States