Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
yippie! these worked! easy enough that i directed my boyfriend while i cooked something else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
It was my first time making these and they turned out great! They will and did in fact puff up if you have the nerve to cook them a little longer and follow this simple little tip: turn them over a second time and press it down with a spatula and the inantly puff up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
They taste really good! A tortilla press is really important. I did not have one so I used the bottom of a pan and parchment paper to press the balls. They came out thick no matter how hard I pushed. But with my thick tortillas I think I would make quesadillas with pulled pork and cheese. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I need a cast iron pan for when I try this again. They tasted great, time consumming yes, I wouldn't make this for enchiladas but I would make it for tacos and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
A little on the small side in comparison to the grocery store size. Needs a pinch of salt. I used 2 cups masa to 1 1/8 cups water. They never puffed up or browned while cooking. Super easy to do, but time consuming to cook them up. I used my big cookie scoop to keep the size consistent. Definitely keep the cooked ones covered as you cook the other ones, so they stay flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I haven't made this yet, but would like to. I have corn flour (doesn't say that it's masa harina) and was wondering if it would work to use it for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Jenn, great recipe! This the real thing people :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I've struggled & struggled to make homemade corn tortillas, even after being taught & watching my Honduran friend make them over and over and over again. This is the basic "recipe" that my friend used, but I found that other's suggestions made it PERFECT. I used chicken stock instead of water and a dash of salt and the flavor was fabulous. A freezer bag cut down the sides and a plate was perfect for flattening the tortillas, although my OCD made me smooth the edges out nice and pretty on each of them, but they've NEVER peeled off so easily before, I ALWAYS tore at least 1/2 my batch apart just trying to peel them off the plastic. One trick that my friend had that was perfect though, was to use a wet paper towel to press the tortillas as they're cooking & use to grab the tortillas and flip without burning ur fingers. Pressing with the damp towel helps make the puffy parts of the tortilla that make the beautiful browned spots. With the adjustments, this is definitely a 5 star, but probably only about a 3 1/2 - 4 stars as it's written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Turned out great, I made no alterations and lined my press with parchment paper to allow for easy removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States