Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is a simple, basic recipe. I had made corn tortillas before with different recipes, but this one is the best recipe Ive used for homemade corn tortillas. I dont have a tortilla press, I just used a freezer bag and cut it to facilitate the pressing of the dough. I just used a small cast iron pan to press my dough. The trick for getting them off the plastic is the peel the plastic off the tortilla, not the other way around. The tortilla takes awhile to "puff" up, you have to cook both sides, and then turn again, waiting patiently for the air to puff up the tortilla. It definately took longer than "10 seconds" for my tortillas to puff up. With these tips, this is a 5 star recipe, and Ill be making home made corn tortillas more often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Don't taste much better than what I buy at the store. Not sure it was worth the effort. Could maybe use a little bit of salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
yippie! these worked! easy enough that i directed my boyfriend while i cooked something else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
It was my first time making these and they turned out great! They will and did in fact puff up if you have the nerve to cook them a little longer and follow this simple little tip: turn them over a second time and press it down with a spatula and the inantly puff up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
They taste really good! A tortilla press is really important. I did not have one so I used the bottom of a pan and parchment paper to press the balls. They came out thick no matter how hard I pushed. But with my thick tortillas I think I would make quesadillas with pulled pork and cheese. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I need a cast iron pan for when I try this again. They tasted great, time consumming yes, I wouldn't make this for enchiladas but I would make it for tacos and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
A little on the small side in comparison to the grocery store size. Needs a pinch of salt. I used 2 cups masa to 1 1/8 cups water. They never puffed up or browned while cooking. Super easy to do, but time consuming to cook them up. I used my big cookie scoop to keep the size consistent. Definitely keep the cooked ones covered as you cook the other ones, so they stay flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I haven't made this yet, but would like to. I have corn flour (doesn't say that it's masa harina) and was wondering if it would work to use it for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Jenn, great recipe! This the real thing people :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States