Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I remember making corn tortillas with my grandmother from nixtamal (corn) ground at the corner molino. We would then take the nixtamal home in a small peltre pot, she would add salt, water and a little lard, and we would make small balls, then pat them into circles with our hands, sort of like clapping, then place them on a comal (flat cast iron skillet) until they were done. We would often eat a few with butter on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used another reviewer's suggestion of cutting up a ziplock bag to use instead of the plastic wrap when forming the tortillas which worked really well. Unlike the plastic wrap, there's no danger in it clinging to itself. Another trick I got from these comments was to pull the plastic off the tortilla dough, rather than pulling the tortilla off the plastic. (if you pull the dough off the plastic then it tears apart). Finally, I used a rolling pin instead of a tortilla press which worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These turned out perfect with my new tortilla press! The only change I made was dividing the dough into 12 sections, which produced the perfect-size weight tortillas. And SO easy (with a tortilla press)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is a simple, basic recipe. I had made corn tortillas before with different recipes, but this one is the best recipe Ive used for homemade corn tortillas. I dont have a tortilla press, I just used a freezer bag and cut it to facilitate the pressing of the dough. I just used a small cast iron pan to press my dough. The trick for getting them off the plastic is the peel the plastic off the tortilla, not the other way around. The tortilla takes awhile to "puff" up, you have to cook both sides, and then turn again, waiting patiently for the air to puff up the tortilla. It definately took longer than "10 seconds" for my tortillas to puff up. With these tips, this is a 5 star recipe, and Ill be making home made corn tortillas more often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Don't taste much better than what I buy at the store. Not sure it was worth the effort. Could maybe use a little bit of salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
yippie! these worked! easy enough that i directed my boyfriend while i cooked something else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
It was my first time making these and they turned out great! They will and did in fact puff up if you have the nerve to cook them a little longer and follow this simple little tip: turn them over a second time and press it down with a spatula and the inantly puff up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
They taste really good! A tortilla press is really important. I did not have one so I used the bottom of a pan and parchment paper to press the balls. They came out thick no matter how hard I pushed. But with my thick tortillas I think I would make quesadillas with pulled pork and cheese. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I need a cast iron pan for when I try this again. They tasted great, time consumming yes, I wouldn't make this for enchiladas but I would make it for tacos and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States