Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
These are my family's favorite tortillas. I sometimes add some chili powder to the mix. I usually fry them in hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
My tortillas weren't the pretties (I had to use a rolling pin) but they were delicious! Very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Reusser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Delicious, and very filling. I'm a bit embarrassed to admit it didn't work for me the first time since this Midwest native didn't appreciate the difference between corn meal and masa harina. I got some Maseca, and all was well. I definitely recommend using a tortilla press and parchment; I had to turn and re-press mine a number of times to get them evenly thin (I suspect my tortilla press is pretty basic), and obviously the parchment made that much easier. I tried a non-stick pan at first, but have settled on a stainless steel one. I also found I was overcooking them at first-- really, watch the 30 seconds per side carefully to get a tortilla that's "done," but flexible. And do wrap them in a clean dish towel once cooked; they stay soft as they cool, and I think the heat they initially retain while stacked against each other finishes out the cooking process. By forming balls somewhere between the size of a golf ball and racquetball, I get a tortilla about the size of a saucer or cd: Comparable in size to grocery store corn tortillas, but far superior in taste and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Hubby & I visited a Mexican food market this weekend to buy some chorizo. He saw the tortilla presses & of course, had to have one. ;o) Like Serena, he used parchment paper instead of plastic wrap. He was whipping out tortillas just like the pros....the show-off! LOL We placed them in a tortilla warmer once cooked & then heated them up for a minute in the microwave. Spread w/ butter & sprinkled w/ salt, they tasted quite authentic. Thansk for the recipe Gloria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
We loved these. I do not have a tortilla press so I put the balls of dough between two freezer bags and used the bottom of a small skillet as my press and then rolled it out a little thinner with my rolling pin(do not roll past the edges as it makes them too thin and then it is hard to get the tortilla off the plastic). I peeled off one bag and laid the tortilla on my hand and peeled the other bag off and laid it on the skillet. The tortillas were only about 4-5 inches in diameter. Only a few of them puffed up a little when I cooked them and they do not really brown. I just turned them when they looked tan instead of white on the top and took them off when the underside had little browned spots on it or it looked cooked. I might try them with a little salt next time. It's hard to explain how something so bland and tasteless on its own can taste so awesome when eaten with whatever you put in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelek
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Ashford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This is a very "basic" corn tortilla recipe. Traditionally, at least in Northern Baja - we use salt and 'additional' lime juice with the masa harina to prepare corn tortillas. There aren't many different types of masa harina - because masa harina is corn flour made from corn and lime. The commonly available brand in the US is Maseca; although I believe Quaker also makes masa harina. Maseca makes a masa harina for tortillas (white bag) and a masa harina for tamales (peach/brown bag). Honestly I'm not sure what the difference is between the two because the masa harina for tamales doesn't include baking powder or salt... which must be added when making tamales. So I believe the two are probably identical; but I cannot confirm this. In my experience corn tortillas don't "puff" (they are not made with baking powder, so they will not puff like flour tortillas would). However, the corn tortillas should turn light/ med-light brown. No oil is needed to 'cook' the tortillas - and although it is best to use a cast iron skillet - a comal can also be used (thin round griddle-like pan). The water amounts are just an estimation (as the temperature and humidity will always play a factor in the process). I use a little less water and add as needed (until the dough doesn't stick). Use parchment paper instead of wax paper to press the tortillas (tortilla press is essential - but may be done using a heavy plate/pan. This is not as effective and a press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Since we can't get corn tortillas here, I was severely missing them and was thrilled to find this recipe. After much waiting for a friend to mail me some masa harina from the States, we were thrilled with these tortillas! They do require a good bit of work, but they're yummy! You can also fry them up or spray them with cooking oil to make tortilla chips. Thanks for giving me corn tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Years ago, I tried to make corn tortillas and the result was a flop. In this case, history has shown to repeat itself. I added about 2 tsp. of salt as others had suggested but shouldn't have bothered because I only formed two tortillas, with much struggle. Making corn torillas, I believe, is a craft that requires patience and perserverence, and I simply gave up. This is a good authentic recipe for those who have experience making corn tortillas (flour tortillas are a piece of cake compared to corn) but I think it gives one the impression that ANYONE can make these. Not the case but I appreciate your submission Gloria, and admire anyone who can master the making of corn tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I loved the flavor, but had trouble getting them to brown. What did I do wrong? Should I have used oil? I couldn't find the masa harina and had to use Maseca corn flour. Is this why they didn't brown? I'll be happy to make them again...my husband loved them even tho they were not browned! GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Thanks so much for this recipe. I had tried others but they always seemed to leave something out of the instructions. These turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States