Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Better than I was expecting, but not as good as I truly was hoping for (does that make sense?). Easy to make, but the flavor was not just QUITE what I remembered from the authentic, homemade corn tortillas I've had. I think next time I will add lime juice and salt, that will probably do the trick. Final thought: after making these, I definitely have decided I need a tortilla press. Mine weren't very pretty, but pretty good! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
very good, no fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Great recipe! easy to make and my kids ate them too! I of course made this with the refried beans receipe and we gobbled the tortillas up. I am thankfull for a chemical free alternative to tortilla wraps from the store that are full of preservatives and things I can't even pronounce, thank you! now I just have to get a tortiall press so they come out round and not rectagular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
That was my first time making tortillas ever; they were delicious!!!!! The dough texture seemed weird (pretty flaky) at first but I gave them a try anyway. Btw, I used 2 cups of maseca and 1 and a half cup water approximately. Make sure after you uncover the dough to keep it moist, away from drying sources. I rolled the dough between two pieces of parchment paper, and had no problems with stickyness. I couldn't quite make them round, so after rolling and before putting them in the pan I cut them in rectangular, triangular, etc pieces and sticked them in the pan. The most important thing in this process is to not forget to cover them after you take them out of the pan. I put them in a plastic bowl with lid. When I took them out of the pan they were hard, but after taking them out of the bowl they were soft and delicious! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is the same recipe I remember my ama Louisa (grandma) making evert morning when I was a little girl in Mexeco.The tortllas do rise when properly made.It is the heated air separating the tortillas into two layers.When it cools it will become flat again.If it doesn't rise it will be tougher not as tasty.This takes a lot of practice to get consistantly.Smaller tortillas are easier to get to rise until you get more practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
THANK YOU to all of those who posted helpful hints. These are wonderful while camping in the mountains. Incredibly easy to make and taste even better when in the wilderness! You should have seen the look I received from the other campers who smelled the fresh tortillas being cooked by a Gringo, absolutely priceless! We made Fish Tacos from the trout we caught earlier in the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imperial Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
WOW! ok, I made these last night and don't have a tortilla press (or a rolling pin... ehem... or...erm...plastic wrap...) so what I did was: wrapped it in foil for the 30 minutes (stayed warm, that's for sure). Then, for the pressing out into 15 tortillas--they were a tad thick, but so yummy!! I used my fingers on a plate, which I'd then use a spatula to flip over on the plate, press out some more, flip, press, flip, press.... I then rubbed a VERY SMALL amount of salt (I measured 1 tsp into a small dish and then just dabbed my fingers on it) so with the final "pressing out" I'd rub in the salt. Very tasty indeed. Also, I used BLUE masa harina so I have these awesome purple tortillas which look like flowers. Hehehehe... oh, and they had to most definitely cook for almost 1 min-1.5 mins on each side, if not longer, since they were sort of thick. But overall, INCREDIBLE! I do want to try adding some lime juice like someone else suggested, I bet that would rock. Then again, lime seems to be my favorite... mmm... quadruple thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
very GOOD very EASY thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
These are my family's favorite tortillas. I sometimes add some chili powder to the mix. I usually fry them in hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
My tortillas weren't the pretties (I had to use a rolling pin) but they were delicious! Very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Reusser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States