Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I've struggled & struggled to make homemade corn tortillas, even after being taught & watching my Honduran friend make them over and over and over again. This is the basic "recipe" that my friend used, but I found that other's suggestions made it PERFECT. I used chicken stock instead of water and a dash of salt and the flavor was fabulous. A freezer bag cut down the sides and a plate was perfect for flattening the tortillas, although my OCD made me smooth the edges out nice and pretty on each of them, but they've NEVER peeled off so easily before, I ALWAYS tore at least 1/2 my batch apart just trying to peel them off the plastic. One trick that my friend had that was perfect though, was to use a wet paper towel to press the tortillas as they're cooking & use to grab the tortillas and flip without burning ur fingers. Pressing with the damp towel helps make the puffy parts of the tortilla that make the beautiful browned spots. With the adjustments, this is definitely a 5 star, but probably only about a 3 1/2 - 4 stars as it's written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Turned out great, I made no alterations and lined my press with parchment paper to allow for easy removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These turned out quite well. I added about 1/4 tsp salt to the dough, rolled out the tortillas between two pieces of plastic (freezer Ziplock cut open) using a rolling pin (they were not round tortillas), and cooked them on a hot cast iron pan. We ate them w/ a bit of cheese (grated and melted on top), salsa, and tomatillo sauce. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I thought these were really tasty, and they were roll-able and flexible enough for me to use to make enchiladas the next day. They weren't hard and brittle like many of the other homemade tortilla recipes I have tried. What a great, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalittlebear1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This just didn't work for me. It might well have been my own fault, as this was my first time ever making tortillas, but I really have no idea what I might have done wrong. I also made flour tortillas from a different recipe on this site, and they turned out much better. We ended up scrapping the results of this recipe and chowing on the flour ones instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My kids love taco's and since I just started making fresh tortillas. They can't get enough. It took me some time to find a place that sells Masa Harina. But now that I have that looked after, we are eating fresh tortillas on a regular basis. They are so simple to make and taste soo good compared to those expensive tortillas you get at the store. I'm very happy I found this recipe. BTW I add some salt to the masa before I add the hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Simple and delicious! We have already made 2 batches in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My husband is Mexican and I "home make" tortillas every night. He taught me how many years ago. I have a tortilla press, and I use a frozen sotrage bag cut to the size of the press circle. I just throw a couple cups of the Maseca in the bowl, add warm water (warm makes a difference) and about 2 TBSPN. of flour, and mix together until it doesn't stick to your hands or the bowl. Add Maseca or warm water until the desired consistency. We use an oblong electric griddle and can cook 6 at a time and I have a tortilla storage tub you can buy at any Latino food store. We also take the raw (uncooked) tortilla, add leftover cooked chicken and cheese, fold over, press together to seal and cook in a little grease in a frying pan on both sides until golden brown. They are delicious. You can add veges, or any meats or any ingredients you want. These are to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Easy and great tasting. I added 2 tablespoons of splenda to add a wee bit of additional flavor and I used a butter spray when cooking them. I will never buy store bought tortillas again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Didnt come out at all. It had hard time keeping together keep breaking apart!sorry will never make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States