Corn Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My kids love taco's and since I just started making fresh tortillas. They can't get enough. It took me some time to find a place that sells Masa Harina. But now that I have that looked after, we are eating fresh tortillas on a regular basis. They are so simple to make and taste soo good compared to those expensive tortillas you get at the store. I'm very happy I found this recipe. BTW I add some salt to the masa before I add the hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Simple and delicious! We have already made 2 batches in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My husband is Mexican and I "home make" tortillas every night. He taught me how many years ago. I have a tortilla press, and I use a frozen sotrage bag cut to the size of the press circle. I just throw a couple cups of the Maseca in the bowl, add warm water (warm makes a difference) and about 2 TBSPN. of flour, and mix together until it doesn't stick to your hands or the bowl. Add Maseca or warm water until the desired consistency. We use an oblong electric griddle and can cook 6 at a time and I have a tortilla storage tub you can buy at any Latino food store. We also take the raw (uncooked) tortilla, add leftover cooked chicken and cheese, fold over, press together to seal and cook in a little grease in a frying pan on both sides until golden brown. They are delicious. You can add veges, or any meats or any ingredients you want. These are to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Easy and great tasting. I added 2 tablespoons of splenda to add a wee bit of additional flavor and I used a butter spray when cooking them. I will never buy store bought tortillas again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Didnt come out at all. It had hard time keeping together keep breaking apart!sorry will never make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
While this is correct way of making tortillas, it is much more time consuming and expensive. I go to my local tortilla maker. (Usually in an hispanic side of town). either way just tell them you want a few pounds of masa. This is already pre-made and cost about 80 cents a pound. All you have to do is roll out out thin. Another thing you can do is make some Gordita's with the same masa. Just make a small ball and press it down with a plate until is about 3/8 inch thick or so. Cook it slow on a grill, careful not to burn the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I thought for sure after the reviews I'd find a way to mess these up but I didn't. My dough started rather dry and crumbly so I added drops of water a couple of drops at a time until the dough stuck together WITHOUT sticking to my hands. I don't have a press so I pressed them between pieces of parchment, flattening them with the bottom of a pan, then rolling them to the desired thickness with a rolling pin. I used a teflon pan as I have a comal but it doesn't do me any good on this lousy sealed electric stove top (Oh, how I've missed gas these past 6 years) and I had no problem, they turned out fine. Lastly, I made sure they went straight from the pan to a bowl with a lid and they were perfect! I will never again buy store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I was taught in Honduras to use shortening in the recipe, about a tablespoon, which helps make the masa smoother and also keeps the tortillas from sticking so bad. Use crisco if you dont want to use lard. I buy maseca white but you can find it yellow, which I think is grittier but gives it a more Mexican taste than my host fam likes (they like the smoother white cornmeal). My host Mom also suggested adding just a little bit of coconut milk instead of water if you want to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I think I must have done something wrong because these did not turn out well at all. First of all, my dough wouldn't stick together and was crumbling everywhere, so I had to add more water to keep it together. Then when I rolled the balls out, they started crumbling again and when I tried to cook them, they cooked unevenly. I ended up having to throw the whole thing away and buy tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I used whole milk instead of cream and it was still the best cornbread I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States